Social

‘Supermoon’ 2016: Best Times & Places to Watch

Tonight’s supermoon will be closer to Earth than it has been in 70 years, and will appear 14% bigger and 30% brighter than usual. NASA states, “The full moon of November 14 is not only the closest full moon of 2016, but also the closest full moon to date in the 21st century.”

The term ‘supermoon’ has only entered popular consciousness over the past few years, according to NASA. Originally, it described when a new or full moon occurred within 90% “of its closest approach to Earth in a given orbit.” These days, the term has a more general definition and describes when a moon is closer to Earth than average.

Where’s the best place to watch the supermoon? When is the best time to view it? Can it even be seen tonight? Get the details here.

Which Presidents Have Forgone the Presidential Salary?

Donald Trump will be the third president to forego the presidential salary of $400,000. Find out which other presidents refused salary.

Click here to read more

Where’s the Best Place to Watch the Supermoon From?

Tonight, many parts of the world will be covered in clouds, making a clear view of the supermoon difficult. According to the Daily Mail, most of the UK will have clouds obstructing the view, while most of the US is set to be clear this evening.

In North America and many Pacific Islands, the supermoon could best be seen early Monday morning just before dawn. The moon reached its peak Monday morning at 9:52am AST, 8:52am EST, 7:52am CST, 6:52 a.m. MST, and 5:52 a.m. PST.

In other parts of the world, the best time to see the supermoon varies. In the UK, it could best be viewed around 4:45pm on Monday, while in Australia and Asia, the moon was clearest after sunset.

On Monday evening, the Daily Mail revealed that an interactive map called Meteo Earth allows you to see your chances of viewing the supermoon based on your location. Click here to access the map. The 3D globe shows live weather across the world, and by clicking the “Cloud Cover” icon on the left side of the screen, you can determine if your view of the supermoon will be obstructed tonight.

Insight Guides lists Hong Kong, India, Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, Malaysia, Singapore, Nepal, and Sri Lanka as the best nine places to see the supermoon. For specific times to view it in each of these places, click here.


Will the Supermoon Be Visible Monday Night?

Did you miss the supermoon last night? Not a problem, the moon will still look great Monday night. Space.com writes, “… [the supermoon] is expected to reach the peak of its full phase on the morning of Monday, Nov. 14, at 8:52 a.m. EST (1352 GMT), but it will appear full to the casual observer in the day before and after the main event.”

NASA deputy project scientist, Noah Petro, confirmed that the spectacle can be seen on Monday night. “I’ve been telling people to go out at night on either Sunday or Monday night to see the supermoon. The difference in distance from one night to the next will be very subtle, so if it’s cloudy on Sunday, go out on Monday. Any time after sunset should be fine. Since the moon is full, it’ll rise at nearly the same time as sunset, so I’d suggest that you head outside after sunset, or once it’s dark and the moon is a bit higher in the sky. You don’t have to stay up all night to see it, unless you really want to!”

Which Presidents Have Forgone the Presidential Salary?

Donald Trump will be the third president to forego the presidential salary of $400,000. Find out which other presidents refused salary.

Click here to read more

Corey Sligh: 5 Fast Facts You Need to Know

Former Young and the Restless actor Corey Sligh has been charged with child molestation. The victim is reported to be under age 10.

Click here to read more

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s