Primavera Sound Insane 2012 Lineup

OK, the lineup for this year’s Primavera Festival is outrageous: A$AP Rocky, AraabMUZIK, Atlas Sound, Beirut, Björk, Black Lips, Danny Brown, Death Cab For Cutie, Death Grips, Dirty Beaches, Girls, Grimes, Hype Williams, Japandroids, Justice, Liturgy, Mazzy Star, Melvins, Napalm Death, Neon Indian, OFF!, Real Estate, Refused, SBTRKT, Sharon Van Etten, Spiritualized, The Cure, The Drums, The Rapture, The War On Drugs, The xx, Trash Talk, Washed Out, Wavves, Wilco, Yo La Tengo and about a hundred other bands.

2 years ago Comment

Wilco “Dawned On Me”

In a rare proper music video from Wilco, “Dawned on Me” has been given the first hand-drawn Popeye cartoon since 1987. A tale of love and jealousy, we see Popeye trying to distract the love of his life, Olive Oyl, from falling for frontman Jeff Tweedy. She, of course, goes for the rock star.

Wilco “Whole Love”

Jeff Tweedy’s son Spencer made a video for “Whole Love”, from Wilco’s 2011 The Whole Love. Spencer’s younger brother Sammy and best friend Joey star in the clip, as well as Spencer’s famous gal pal Tavi Gevinson, editor-in-chief of Rookie Mag.

Coachella 2012 Lineup Leak?

There’s been no official announcement from the Coachella camp, but this lineup is being circulated as an early leak. Big names too: Radiohead, No Doubt, Foo Fighters, Daft Punk, The Roots, Wilco, Florence and The Machine, Underworld, Beirut, M83 and Justice are a few of the acts listed for the three-day festival in Indio, CA.

What’s New In Music This Week?

This Week: Japanese weirdo rockers Boris’ third album for 2011; Gorillaz look back at 10 years of hits with a box set of singles; The Smashing Pumpkins remind you how great they were with reissues of Gish and Siamese Dream; Wilco puts out special vinyl for Record Store Day’s Black Friday.

What’s New In Music This Week

This Week: Wilco fans will rejoice; Twin Sister trumps all the buzz; Gem Club’s beautiful tragedy; blog-star Youth Lagoon’s much-awaited debut; Mastodon brings heavy riffs and a sense of loss.

Wilco “Born Alone”

Here’s the first single from Wilco’s new album The Whole Love, due out this month. For this track, frontman Jeff Tweedy first hammered out the melody, then turned to a book of American poetry, randomly opening to Emily Dickinson, for lyrical inspiration. The image is from his notebook and those are some of the words that appealed to him, ultimately fashioning the song.

Solid Sound Festival 2011 Lineup

Wilco is curating the Solid Sound Festival in beautiful North Adams, MA June 24th-26th. Wilco headlines Friday and Saturday night, with a hand-picked lineup filling out the rest of the weekend including: The Levon Helm Band, Thurston Moore, Jamie Lidell, Sic Alps, Here We Go Magic and more.