‘The Essential NSync’: 5 Fast Facts You Need to Know

nsync, justin timberlake, joey fatone, chris kirkpatrick, lance bass, jc chasez


’90s boy band NSync dropped a new album to the surprise of its own members. Lance Bass and his former bandmates (but not too cool for school Justin Timberlake) have all taken to Twitter to comment on the compilation album, The Essential NSync, released by Sony Legacy.

The Essential, released on July 30, has sold out on Amazon and is No. 4 on the iTunes chart for downloaded albums.

Let the ’90s nostalgia begin with a look back at NSync’s greatest hits and deepest cuts.

1. The Album Includes Rarely Heard Tracks

The Essential features big hits like “Tearin’ Up My Heart,” “It’s Gonna Be Me,” and “Bye Bye Bye,” but the two-disc set also includes the band’s cover of “The Lion Sleeps Tonight” and its Sesame Street performance of “Believe in Yourself.”

See the full 34-track list for the 2-disc set:

Disc 1:
1. “Here We Go” (Radio Cut)
2. “I Want You Back” (Radio Edit)
3. “Tearin’ Up My Heart” (Original Radio Edit)
4. “God Must Have Spent a Little More Time on You” (Remix)
5. “Thinking of You (I Drive Myself Crazy)”
6. “For the Girl Who Has Everything” (Radio Mix)
7. “Are You Gonna Be There”
8. “Music of My Heart” — Featuring Gloria Estefan
9. “Bye Bye Bye”
10. “It’s Gonna Be Me”
11. “This I Promise You” (Radio Edit)
12. “I Thought She Knew”
13. “I Believe in You” — Featuring Joe
14. “If I’m Not the One”
15. “Pop” (Radio Version)
16. “Girlfriend” (The Neptunes Remix) — Featuring Nelly
17. “Gone”

Disc 2:
1. “More Than a Feeling”
2. “Best of My Life”
3. “The Lion Sleeps Tonight”
4. “Sailing”
5. “Everything I Own”
6. “God Must Have Spent a Little More Time on You” — Featuring Alabama
7. “Somewhere Someday”
8. “Trashin’ the Camp” — Featuring Phil Collins
9. “If Only in Heaven’s Eyes”
10. “You Don’t Have to Be Alone”
11. “On the Line” — Featuring the On the Line All-Stars/Lance Bass/Joey Fatone/Mandy Moore/Christian Burns and True Vibe
12. “That Girl (Will Never Be Mine)”
13. “Falling”
14. “Feel the Love”
15. “Selfish”
16. “See Right Through You”
17. “Believe in Yourself” (TV Version — Sesame Street)

2. Lance Bass Had No Clue About the Album Drop

lance bass, n sync, dirty pop


The release of The Essential NSync came as a surprise to the band’s own member Lance Bass. He posted a screen grab of the album on Amazon to the his Instagram with the caption:

I love when the record label doesn’t even tell you they are releasing a new ‘NSYNC album tomorrow ! Sounds like they don’t want anyone to know about it. Weird.

His bandmates couldn’t believe it either, but appreciated the love from fans to make the album a top seller, more than 10 years after the band split.

3. NSync Reunited at the 2013 MTV VMAs

NSync made every ’90s girl’s dream come true when they reunited for the first time since 2002 at the 2013 MTV Video Music Awards. After Timberlake sang a medley of his own greatest hits, Bass, Chasez, Fatone and Kirkpatrick ascended out of the stage to join their former band member in front of the crowd gathered at the Barclay’s Center in Brooklyn Center.

The boys sang “Gone,” “Girlfriend” and “Bye Bye Bye” before Timberlake took over the solo duties again.

4. ‘The Essential’ Is N Sync’s Third Compilation Album

nsync, the essential nsync, joey fatone, chris kirkpatrick, justin timberlake, lance bass, jc chasez


The band released only three studio albums between 1997 and 2001, but The Essential marks the band’s third greatest hits/compilation style album.

NSync’s second album No Strings Attached, released in 2000, sold more than 10 million copies and Billboard magazine named it the best-selling album of the decade from 2000-2009.

5. Sony Legacy Released an Essential Album for the Backstreet Boys Last Year

backstreet boys, the essential backstreet boys, backstreet boys tour

It’s one of the greatest debates in music history (or perhaps just among the women who grew up with them): Who is better? N Sync? Or Backstreet Boys? The Backstreet Boys have reunited to tour together for the last three years and Sony Legacy released The Essential Backstreet Boys album last fall.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s



I listened to the first disc of the nsync album. Brilliantly organized and paced! It flows very well. The songs I’ve never heard of are very well done. As always, I still love It’s Gonna be me! They put enough songs to appeal to everyone. And very diverse in its scope. They did more than pop and they have songs with Joe,phil, Gloria,Alabama, Mandy, and others.


It’s gonna be me is my favorite NSYNC song too! I honestly don’t know what number 5 has to do with the NSYNC album, but whatever.

Discuss on Facebook