‘American Idol’ 2016 Finale Performers & Performances

Tonight begins the two-part series finale of American Idol and the top 3 finalists will be narrowed down to two. Dalton Rapattoni, La’Porsha Renae and Trent Harmon are vying for the final two spots going into tomorrow’s grand finale. But, in addition to the performances of the final 3 artists, there are over 50 returning contestants ready to appear on the show. Read on below for details.

According to TMZ, original ‘Idol’ co-host Brian Dunkleman will return for an appearance on the show. If you remember, Ryan Seacrest was a co-host for season 1 only and then Dunkleman was axed, paving the way for Seacrest to become one of the biggest names in the industry. Former judges Simon Cowell, Paula Abdul and Randy Jackson are supposed to drop in as well.

Nick Fradiani, Lee DeWyze, Phillip Phillips, Kris Allen, and David Cook will be performing a David Bowie tribute. At first, there was talk that Phillip Phillips would not be on the finale because of a lawsuit he had with his former record label (in association with American Idol). Rickey.org stated:

It’s somewhat surprising to hear that Phillip will be at the finale, since he recently sued 19 Entertainment to get out of his contract, a lawsuit which was countered by Idol producers against Phillip’s new manager. I don’t know how they negotiated it, or what each side had to do to make it happen, but I’m stoked that it’s happening.

Jennifer Hudson and Kelly Clarkson’s performances will not be live as they have been pre-taped. Nonetheless, there will be tons of live performances lined up. Judges Jennifer Lopez will be taking the stage to sing as well, performing her single “Aint Your Mama”. According to Entertainment Tonight, JLo’s single will officially be released Thursday night on iTunes.

Former contestants slated to make appearances on the finale episodes of the series include Kelly Clarkson, William Hung, Ruben Studdard, Fantasia, Carrie Underwood, Taylor Hicks, Jordin Sparks, David Cook, Kris Allen, Lee DeWyze, Scotty McCreery, Phillip Phillips, Candice Glover, Caleb Johnson, Nick Fradiani, Ace Young, Allison Iraheta, Amber Holcomb, Blake Lewis, Bo Bice, Brandon Rogers, Bucky Covington, Carly Smithson, Casey James, Chris Daughtry, Clark Beckham, Clay Aiken, Colton Dixon, Constantine Maroulis, Danny Gokey, David Archuleta, Diana DeGarmo, Elliott Yamin, George Huff, James Durbin, Jasmine Trias, Jennifer Hudson, Jessica Sanchez, Joshua Ledet, Justin Guarini, Katharine McPhee, Kellie Pickler, Kimberley Locke, Kree Harrison, LaToya London, Lauren Alaina, Melinda Doolittle, Mikalah Gordon, Pia Toscano, Sanjaya, Skylar Laine, and Tamyra Gray.

For more Idol news: