‘Bill Murray: The Mark Twain Prize’: What Time & Channel Is the Special on?

Bill Murray, Mark Twain Prize, Bill Murray PBS special


On Sunday, October 23, Bill Murray was honored with the Kennedy Center‘s 19th annual Mark Twain Prize for American Humor. Murray is the latest honoree, following in the footsteps of Richard Pryor, Whoopi Goldberg, Steve Martin, Billy Crystal, George Carlin, Carole Burnett and Tina Fey. The ceremony will finally debut on PBS on Friday, October 28. Read on for a preview of the show and to learn when it airs.

BILL MURRAY: THE MARK TWAIN PRIZE | Official Trailer | PBSCelebrate the achievements of the comedic trailblazer, the 19th recipient of the humor prize. Premieres Friday, October 28, 2016 at 9/8c. Learn more: http://to.pbs.org/2dkACR3 | #PBSarts | #PBSTwain Subscribe to the PBS channel for more clips: https://www.youtube.com/user/PBS/feat… Enjoy full episodes of your favorite PBS programs at pbs.org/video. Like PBS on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pbs/ Follow PBS on Twitter: https://twitter.com/PBS Follow PBS on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/PBS Official website: http://www.pbs.org/ Get PBS merchandise: http://www.shoppbs.org/home/index.jsp Celebrate beloved actor and comedian Bill Murray, the latest recipient of The Kennedy Center Mark Twain Prize for American Humor. From the stage of The John F. Kennedy Center, a star-studded lineup salutes the achievements of the comedic trailblazer. The PBS Arts Fall Festival returns Friday nights, beginning October 21, 2016, with 8 new programs, including the highly anticipated look into the making of the Broadway phenomenon Hamilton, a contemporary take on the life of Founding Father Alexander Hamilton. Visionary Lin-Manuel Miranda, the show’s Tony and Grammy Award-winning creator and star, will host this year’s festival.2016-10-26T17:14:53.000Z

The Mark Twain Prize for American Humor is an annual award the Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C. began in 1998, with Richard Pryor as its first honoree. Murray’s ceremony includes appearances from Emma Stone, Aziz Ansari, David Letterman, Jimmy Kimmel, Bill Hader, Ivan Reitman and Sigourney Weaver. Even Miley Cyrus, who co-starred with Murray in Netflix’s A Very Murray Christmas, was there to pay tribute to Murray in song.

“As a previous recipient of the Mark Twain Prize, I’d like to say to you, ‘Welcome to the club,’ and to the Kennedy Center, ‘Really?'” Steve Martin said during the ceremony, notes USA Today. “I think you and I are about as close as two people can be, considering that one of them is you.”

Murray picked up his award at the end of the ceremony and paid tribute to his older brother, Brian Doyle-Murray. “My brother had more guts than anyone I ever knew, and the only reason I’m here tonight is because of the guts of my brother Brian. “He’s been waiting a long time to hear that,” Murray said, mentioning how his brother supported the family after their father died.

DATE: October 28, 2016.

TIME: 9 p.m. ET

CHANNEL: PBS (To find out what your local PBS station is, click here to go to PBS.org and click “Look up a new station.” Enter your zip code or state to search.)

SYNOPSIS: Bill Murray is honored with the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor at a gala featuring Dan Aykroyd, Aziz Ansari, Roy Blount Jr., Bill Hader, Jimmy Kimmel, David Letterman, Brian Doyle Murray, Paul Shaffer and Sigourney Weaver. From the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in Washington, D.C.

Read More
, ,