Kanye West & Drake’s New Album: 5 Fast Facts You Need to Know

Kanye West and Drake. (Photos by Jewel Samad and Mike Windle/Getty Images)

Kanye West and Drake. (Photos by Jewel Samad and Mike Windle/Getty Images)

When Drake first arrived on the music scene in 2009, it was obvious who his biggest inspiration was: Kanye West. His mixtape So Far Gone was a direct descendant of West’s 808s & Heartbreak (2008), from the lyrical content to the wistful, moody production. The two would subsequently join forces in 2010, as West produced a pair of tracks on Drake’s debut album Thank Me Later (2010) and directed the music video for “Best I Ever Had.”

In the years since, the rappers have had a roller coaster relationship, from acquaintances and frienemies to their more recent run as close collaborators. West and Drake are even said to have new music in the works, the likes of which were rumored to debut at West’s Yeezy Season 5 fashion show on Wednesday. But seeing as the long wait for the joint album continues, we figured now was as good a time as any to compile the info we do have. Here are five fast facts about Kanye West and Drake’s new album that you need to know.

1. It’s Been in the Works Since 2016

Rumors surrounding the Kanye West-Drake collab first started in 2016, when West spoke with Vogue magazine. “We’re just working on music, working on a bunch of music together”, said West, “just having fun going into the studio.” The “Famous” rapper went on to reveal that he and Drake are indeed planning a full-length project: “We’re working on an album, so there’s some exciting things coming up soon.”

West’s appearance at Drake’s OVO Fest in October further added fuel to the fire. West addressed the audience in between songs, asking “Toronto I got one question for you: is ya’ll ready for this album?” He went on to explain “Now, I’m not talking about [The Life of] Pablo, ya’ll ready for THIS album?” He then pointed to Drake, who came on stage for a moment to confirm: “What my brother is trying to say is are ya’ll ready for us to make an album?”

2. The Rumored Title is ‘There Goes The Neighborhood’

View this post on Instagram

There goes the neighborhood

A post shared by champagnepapi (@champagnepapi) on Nov 7, 2016 at 3:05am PST

The album has yet to receive an official title, but fans have determined the most likely candidate based on West and Drake’s social media. The “One Dance” rapper uploaded a picture of him and West to Instagram with the cryptic caption “There Goes The Neighborhood.” Given that both rappers live in the same Calabasas neighborhood in California, the rumored title does seem to be a logical one.

Around the same time, the duo collaborated in more subtle fashion, as West was a co-writer on Drake’s single “Two Birds, One Stone.” The song made headlines for its diss of Kid Cudi, an artist that both West and Drake have linked to in the past. Drake also served as a co-writer on West’s album The Life of Pablo (2016), as he credited for the tracks “30 Hours” and “Father Stretch My Hands, Pt. 1.”

3. It Was Recorded in Calabasas, California

West and Drake gave fans a sign–literally– when their names both showed up on a billboard in Los Angeles last August. “Calabasas in the new Abu Dhabi” the sign read, referring to the wealthy capital of the United Arab Emirates and the city of Calabasas, where West and Drake both reside. The billboard also sported the logos for both rappers’ record labels, GOOD Music and OVO Sound, respectively.

According to Billboard, the nearby neighbors take advantage of their proximity and have recorded the majority, if not all, of the joint album. And while the two have been known to compete over who has the more illustrious house (and the biggest pool), it seems as though West’s home recording studio has been the main location.

4. There’s At Least 11 Tracks Recorded

This Post was deleted by the Post author. Learn more

Kanye West and Drake are known for their prolific musical output. Both artists are constantly working on guest features, releasing loose tracks, or developing other artists. That being said, in an age where prestige team-ups are rarely delivered (J. Cole & Kendrick Lamar, Childish Gambino & Chance The Rapper), West and Drake both seem committed to making this joint effort come to fruition. According to New Hip Hop Song, there have already been 11 tracks recorded for the album, among which include the recently announced “Lost Hills.”

Playing coy on the matter late last year, Drake described West as “one of my favorite people.” He also discussed their recording process, saying “We’ll just sit there and collaborate. We have a few things that we’ve worked on. It’s all about finding a place for it.” Hopefully that place will be on store shelves sooner than later.

5. The Rumored Single is ‘Lost Hills’

This Post was deleted by the Post author. Learn more

The latest development in the album, and the one that was supposed to premiere at West’s Yeezy Season 5 show on Wednesday. The buzz surrounding a song called “Lost Hills” was first started by GQ style writer Jake Woolf, who tweeted a photo of a long-sleeved tee emblazoned with the words “Lost Hills.” Furthermore, a promotional graphic for the show had both West and Drake’s name on the bill, despite the fact that Drake himself was not in attendance (he is currently on tour). It was assumed that West would at least play a recording the song at some point the show.

This Post was deleted by the Post author. Learn more

Unfortunately,  Yeezy Season 5 came and went without any sign of “Lost Hills.” West made no mention of the song or the album, and instead played a cover of J. Holliday’s “Bed” by R&B singer The-Dream. As of right now, there is no set release for when the song will come out.