Which ‘Game of Thrones’ Actors Have Won Emmys or Golden Globes?

Game of Thrones cast, Game of Thrones emmys, Game of Thrones emmy press room

Getty Cast and crew members of "Game of Thrones" winners of Outstanding Drama Series pose in the press room at the 67th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards at Microsoft Theater on September 20, 2015 in Los Angeles, California.

HBO’s hit series Game of Thrones returns for its penultimate season on July 16th. The fantasy drama series has one of the best casts on TV right now, with actors and actresses like Peter Dinklage, Lena Headey, Emilia Clarke, Kit Harington, and Maisie Williams killing it every week. So which of these actors have won awards for their performances?

At the Emmys, there’s actually only a single Game of Thrones actor who has ever won: Peter Dinklage, who plays Tyrion Lannister. Dinklage won in 2011 for the show’s first season, and he won again in 2015 for the show’s fifth season. Season 5, you’ll recall, was the season in which Tyrion flees King’s Landing having killed Tywin Lannister, and he eventually makes his way to Meereen and becomes an adviser to Daenerys Targaryen.

Six Game of Thrones actors have been nominated for Emmys but have not won: Diana Rigg (Olenna Tyrell), Emilia Clarke (Daenerys Targaryen), Lena Headey (Cercei Lannister), Kit Harington (Jon Snow), Maisie Williams (Arya Stark), and Max Von Sydow (The Three Eyed Raven).

At the Golden Globes, once again Peter Dinklage is the only actor who has won; he won the award for Best Supporting Actor in 2012. The only other Game of Thrones actor who has been nominated for a Golden Globe is Lena Headey, who was nominated in 2017.

At the Screen Actors Guild Awards, the only person who has ever been nominated from Game of Thrones is, again, Peter Dinklage, who was nominated in 2014, 2015, 2016, and 2017. However, he lost all four times.

Some of the Game of Thrones actors have been nominated for Critics’ Choice Television Awards, but no one from the show has ever won one of these. The actors who have been nominated at the Critics Choice Awards are Peter Dinklage, Emilia Clarke, Diana Rigg, Kit Harington, Lena Headey, and Nikolaj Coster-Waldau (Jaime Lannister).

In addition, at the People’s Choice Awards, Nikolaj Coster-Waldau and Emilia Clarke have been nominated but have not won.

At the Saturn Awards, awards given out by the Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror Films, Maisie Williams won in 2015 for her performance as Arya Stark. In addition, the following actors have bene nominated for Saturn Awards but have not won: Lena Headey, Kit Harington, Nikolaj Coster-Waldau, Emilia Clarke, Sean Bean (Ned Stark), Jack Gleeson (Joffrey Baratheon), Gwendoline Christie (Brienne of Tarth), Michelle Fairley (Catelyn Stark), and Brenock O’Connor (Olly).

Nobody from Game of Thrones was nominated for the 2017 Emmys, but that’s because the show was not eligible. To be eligible for an Emmy this September, the show must have premiered between June 1st, 2016 and May 31th, 2017. The seventh season of Game of Thrones therefore missed this deadline by about a month and a half.

Comment Here
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x