How to Stream & Download James Blake’s ‘Assume Form’

Getty James Blake performs live

Tonight, James Blake is treating fans to his fourth studio album, Assume Form. The album is Blake’s first since 2016’s The Colour In Anything, and was preceded by the lead singles “Don’t Miss It” and “Mile High.”

Assume Form will be released at 10 p.m. PT on Thursday (Jan. 17) or midnight Eastern on Friday (Dec. 18) depending on your time zone. We’ve listed all the different platforms that the album will be released on, and the ways in which you can listen below.

Apple Music

You will be able to stream James Blake’s new album on iTunes and Apple Music. If you have an Apple Music account, you can go into the app on your phone or tablet and set the notifications to alert you when the album is out. Click here to learn how.

If you don’t have an Apple Music account and want to try it out, you can click here to start a free 30-day trial. If you cancel during your trial period, you’ll continue to have access to the entire Apple Music catalog until the date that you would have been billed for the full price. The album is also available for pre-order on iTunes, which you can check out here.


View this post on Instagram

Assume Form 18/01/19

A post shared by James Blake (@jamesblake) on Jan 12, 2019 at 6:54am PST

Based on the standard release schedule for Spotify, Blake’s Assume Form will also be available to stream on the platform. If you don’t have a Spotify account, you can sign up for one here and pay only $0.99 for the first three months.



Blake’s album will also be available to listen to on Tidal. The streaming service offers a free 30-day trial with Tidal Premium, which provides  access to music videos and curated playlists.


Blake has been relatively on the music front since releasing his acclaimed 2016 album The Colour In Anything. During a recent interview with Dazed, he explained that he’s found it easier to convey his emotions through words, and that his craft as a songwriter has gotten better.

“For so long – and maybe it’s even the reason I got into music in the first place – I found it hard to communicate with words,” he revealed. “Music was easier for me, emotionally speaking. In my old interviews, I would have been able to talk about how I was influenced by Andrei Tarkovsky, or whatever the f**k, but I don’t think I was necessarily going to tell you about how afraid I was, or whatever emotion was happening. There was no literal explanation, there was just a bunch of very carefully written poems.”
The album includes 12 tracks and features from some of rap music’s most sought after artists, including Travis Scott, former OutKast legend André 3000, and producer Metro Boomin. Check out the track titles below.
1. “Assume Form”
2. “Mile High” (featuring Travis Scott & Metro Boomin)
3. “Tell Them” (featuring Moses Sumney & Metro Boomin)
4. “Into the Red”
5. “Barefoot In the Park” (featuring ROSALÍA)
6. “Can’t Believe the Way We Flow”
7. “Are You In Love?”
8. “Where’s the Catch?” (featuring André 3000)
9. “I’ll Come Too”
10. “Power On”
11. “Don’t Miss It”
12. “Lullaby For My Insomniac”
Blake also told Dazed the “Sad Boy” persona that he’s cultivated over his career, and the desire to ignore the negative connotations that come with it. “It’s like okay – so what can I talk about, then? If I can’t talk about emotions in music,” he remarked. “If I can’t talk about those things, and I am anxious and I am depressed and I am sad, then what the f**k else am I going to talk about? On this record, I’m just talking about how I feel now, and I will continue to write about how I feel, or sometimes I won’t talk about how I feel, but I’ll f**king damn well choose when I do and when I don’t – without feeling like because I’m a man I shouldn’t do that.”

Comment Here
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x