What Time & Date Is ‘The Expanse’ Season 4 on Amazon?

The Expanse Season 4

Amazon Prime The Expanse Season 4

It’s almost time for The Expanse Season 4 to release on Amazon Prime. But what time and date can you start watching? It will actually be sooner than you think, if Amazon follows the schedule it’s used for TV series previously. Read on for more details.


‘The Expanse’ Is Officially Releasing on December 13, But It Released Earlier in the U.S.

The Expanse Season 4 is officially scheduled to release on Amazon Prime on Friday, December 13. But in the past, Amazon Prime has released TV series the night before the official release date in the U.S., and Amazon did this again for Season 4. It was made available on Amazon Prime as of 6 p.m. Eastern on Thursday, December 12.

When you look at the Season 4 listing on Prime, you may not see the other episodes and may only see the bonus videos. But if you click on the blue button that says “Watch Episode 1,” you can start the new season.

A good previous example is the latest season of The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, which also showed up on Amazon the night before it was supposed to officially premiere.

Amazon frequently releases shows at 12 a.m. UTC on the release day (which would be 12 a.m. UTC on December 13 for The Expanse.) In the U.S., this translates to 7 p.m. Eastern on Thursday, December 12 (or 6 p.m. Central/4 p.m. Pacific on December 12.)

Amazon did not respond to Heavy’s request for information on the release time for The Expanse. However, a viewer on Reddit wrote Amazon’s customer service about the release time and got the following response. “I am writing in response to the recent chat inquiry we received with regards to the availability of Season 4 of The Expanse. As mentioned the Season 4 of The Expanse would be aired on December 13th 2019 by 12am (UTC) – 11am Sydney (NSW). The content is available in SD, HD and UHD. I hope the information provided helps!”

In Japan and Germany, it had already released on Amazon by about 5 p.m. Eastern U.S. time, but this was not the case in every country.

It released hours earlier in Japan.


About ‘The Expanse’

Amazon will be releasing all 10 episodes at once.

The Expanse Season 4 – Official Trailer | Prime VideoDiscover what lies beyond the Ring Gate as the Rocinante lands on Ilus to find tensions at a full boil. Full season coming December 13, 2019 on Amazon Prime Video. » The Expanse returns 12/13. Watch the current season with Prime: bit.ly/TheExpansePrimeVideo » SUBSCRIBE: bit.ly/PrimeVideoSubscribe About The Expanse: The disappearance of rich-girl-turned-political-activist Julie Mao links…2019-11-18T15:59:51.000Z

Heavy was given advance screeners of the first six episodes of Season 4 and they are phenomenal. The new season jumps right in where Season 3 left off, so you’ll definitely want to make sure you’re familiar with what last happened. There won’t be any hand-holding for Season 4. You’ll be on the edge of your seat from the beginning, drawn into a complicated plot that’s encased in absolutely stunning cinematography.

The new episodes aren’t longer than in previous seasons. They run right around 46 to 48 minutes (with one episode running closer to 44 minutes.) So you won’t be getting significantly longer episodes, but each episode is so full of plot advancement and layers upon layers that you’ll feel like they’re a lot longer. And that’s a really good thing. Be prepared to want to binge this season, since many episodes end with a new development that leaves you wanting to move immediately to the next episode.

READ NEXT: ‘The Expanse’ Season 4 Review: Episodes 1-6 Are Beautiful & Compelling