EVO 2014: Tournament Breakdown, Notable Players, Panels & More

EVO 2014

EVO 2014 is not that far away.

As thousands of avid FGC players and avid followers of the whole scene make their way to Las Vegas, plenty of gamers will prepare to view this tournament go down via livestreams. EVO 2014 will take over the Westgate Las Vegas Resort & Casino in just a few days. From July 11th, 2014 to July 13th, 2014, all eyes will be on EVO 2014.

Here’s a breakdown of the biggest fighting game extravaganza of 2014!

Dates and Livestream Schedule


Tournament Schedule and Brackets

• The entirety of the tournament schedule and its brackets can be seen at the following LINK.


Games Breakdown/Unofficial Entrant Numbers

Ultra Street Fighter 4 (Total estimated prize pot: $29,790) – 1,979
BlazBlue: Chronophantasma (Total estimated prize pot: $35,080) – 508
Killer Instinct (Total estimated prize pot: $13,380) – 338
Ultimate Marvel vs. Capcom 3 (Total estimated prize pot: $10,140) – 1, 014
King of Fighters XIII (Total estimated prize pot: $3,190) – 319
Injustice: Gods Among Us (Total estimated prize pot: $3,110) – 311
Super Smash Bros. Melee (Total estimated prize pot: $9,700) – 970
Tekken Tag Tournament 2 (Total estimated prize pot: $7,570) – 257


Notable Players

• North America: EG|Justin Wong, EG|PR Balrog, EG|Ricky Ortiz, GG|NYChrisG, RG|Filipino Champ, EMP|Dieminion, EG|K-Brad, RG|Snake Eyez, RG|Flocker, Twitch|Mike Ross, C9|Mango, EG|PPMD, EMP|Mew2King, Crs|Hungrybox, Jayce the Ace, FNATIC|Perfect Legend, PIE|Zeus, PIE|Smug, TS|Arturo Sanchez, EMP|NuckleDu, RG|Rico Suave, BT|MarlinPie, RM|CD Jr., LU|Alex Valle, TS|LordKnight, FRQ|Filipinoman, CEO|CJ Truth, NGL|Marq Teddy, NGL|Chris, NGL|Brentt, CCG|Chi-Rithy, CCG|Air, fLoE, r/Kappa|Tampa Bison, r/Kappa|Alex Myers, Veloc1raptor

• Japan: MCZ|Daigo, MCZ|Mago, MCZ|Tokido, EG|Momochi, RZR|Fuudo, HORI|Sako, Haitani, Kazunoko, Bonchan, Nuki, EG|ChocoBlanka, BE|Abegen, RZR|Itabashi Zangief, Dogura, MOV, RF, Kokujin, Acqua, Eita, Kyabetsu, Nyanshi, Yossan, KojiKOG, N-Otoko, Tsujikawa, Ho-Chan

• Europe: DIG|Ryan Hart, EMP|Armada, MD|Luffy, Alioune, CG|Problem X, HoG|Popi, Leffen, Kiba, LLL|Emersion, CDV|Will2Pac, ImStillDaDaddy

• Other: RZR|Xian, Infiltration, AvM|GamerBee, Qanba|Xiao Hai, Qanba|Dakou, RZR|Gackt, Latif, BE|KaneBlueRiver, Laugh


Panels & Other Events


GOIN TO EVO – Max Commentating KI and Panel, Friday @ 4 PMWatch Evo here twitch.tv/srkevo1 or here twitch.tv/srkevo2 I'll be back Tuesday next week! Our Official Shirts! eightysixedclothing.com/maximilian Capture your games with the Elgato HD bit.ly/1gQrQbK My Livestream! twitch.tv/maximilian_dood Follow Me! twitter.com/maximilian_ Official Facebook Page! facebook.com/maximilianDood2014-07-10T21:00:02.000Z

• The planned panels for EVO 2014 will take place on Friday (July 11, 2014) and Saturday (July 12, 2014) from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. PST. Check out the video above to get some info on Maximilian’s planned panel.

EVO 2014 Indie Showcase

EVO 2014 Inaugural Art Show

Share this EVO 2014 breakdown!

Share Tweet Email

Planned & Rumored Announcements

EVO 2014

• Ed Boon will reveal something new for his upcoming fighter, Mortal Kombat X – 12 p.m. PST/3 p.m. EST

Tekken Project development team leader Katsuhiro Harada will be making an announcement – 5:30 p.m. PST/8:30 p.m. EST


Stream Services

Team Spooky, Mad Catz and iPlayWinner will handle the official Twitch livestreaming duties on behalf of EVO 2014.


Side Tournaments

Guilty Gear Accent Core + R & Persona 4: Arena: July 11, 2014 (Friday) at 12 p.m. PST/3 p.m. EST (Guilty Gear Accent Core + R) and 4 p.m. PST/7 p.m. EST (Persona 4: Arena) (Entire tournament and Top 8 will be livestreamed for both games)

Soul Calibur 2 HD Online & Soul Calibur V: July 11, 2014 (Friday) at 5 p.m. PST/8 p.m. EST and July 12, 2014 (Saturday) at 6 p.m. PST/9 p.m. EST (Top 8 will be livestreamed for both games)

Ultra Street Fighter 4 5 vs. 5 Team Exhibition (West Coast Wednesday Night Fights Team vs. East Coast Next Level Battle Circuit Team): July 11, 2014 (Friday) 10 p.m. PST/1 a.m. EST

Skullgirls (Top 8 will be livestreamed): July 12, 2014 (Saturday) at 1 p.m. PST/4 p.m. EST

Mortal Kombat: July 12, 2014 (Saturday) at 6 p.m. PST/9 p.m. EST (Entire tournament will be livestreamed)


EVO 2013 Highlights


EVO 2013 MomentsEvolution 2013, set in Las Vegas, Nevada from July 12-14, gathers the best fighting game players for three days in the world's biggest video game tournament. EVO 2013 Moments is comprised of mainly footage from the last day, the finals, across multiple games: Super Smash Brothers, Ultimate Marvel vs. Capcom 3, Injustice, and Super Street…2013-07-21T01:20:44.000Z


Comment Here
Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x