‘Pokemon Go’: List of New Countries Where the Game is Available

Pokemon Go sydney, Pokemon Go australia, Pokemon Go game

Pokemon Go players gather at the Sydney Opera House in Sydney, Australia. (Getty)

Pokemon Go has been released in over thirty new countries.

Over the past week, Niantic has unveiled three separate expansions of the free-to-play mobile app, and the game is now available in many regions in Europe, Africa and Asia. This comes over two months after the game first launched on July 6th in Australia, New Zealand, and the United States.

Not a part of this new expansion, however, is China or South Korea. No release date for either country has been announced. It seems this is in part because China and South Korea both block Google Maps, and Google Maps data is required for Pokemon Go to work. That’s how the game is able to map out what’s around you.

Some other regions that don’t have the game include Algeria, Bangladesh, India, Israel, Jordan, Nepal, Turkey and the United Arab Emirates.

Here is the full list of new countries where Pokemon Go has been made available over the past week:

  • Albania
  • Benin
  • Bosnia & Herzegovina
  • Botswana
  • Burkina Faso
  • Cape Verde
  • Chad
  • Cote d’Ivoire
  • Egypt
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kenya
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Liberia
  • Macau
  • Macedonia
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Mauritania
  • Mauritius
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Niger
  • Rwanda
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • South Africa
  • Swaziland
  • Tajikistan
  • Tanzania
  • Togo
  • Turkmenistan
  • Uganda
  • Uzbekistan
  • Zambia