Triple Crown: 5 Fast Facts You Need to Know

California chrome triple crown


To win the Triple Crown is considered the highest honor in American horse racing. To win the title, a thoroughbred horse must win the Kentucky Derby, the Preakness, and the Belmont Stakes in a single year.

Here is what you need to know about the Triple Crown:

1. Only 11 Horses Have Won the Triple Crown



Since the beginning of the Triple Crown races, only 11 horses have won the honor. Sir Barton in 1919, Gallant Fox in 1930, Omaha in 1935, War Admiral in 1937, Whirlaway in 1941, Count Fleet in 1943, Assault in 1946, Citation in 1948, Secretariat in 1973, Seattle Slew in 1977, and Affirmed in 1978.

2. 21 Horses Have One the First Two Races, But Lost the Third

preakness hats


Although winning the honor is rare, many many horses have come close over the passed 100 years. Between 1932 and 2012, 21 horses have won the first two races, only to loose or be able to compete in the Belmont Stakes, the final of the three races. The most recent “near miss” was I’ll Have Another in 2012, who won the Kentucky Derby and the Preakness, but could not race in the Belmont Stakes due to injury.

3. The Last Winner Was in 1978

affirmed triple crown


The Triple Crown hasn’t been won in 36 years. The last time it was won by Affirmed in 1978. He was born in 1975 and won 19 major races in his career, including all 3 of the Triple Crown races.

4. California Chrome Could Win

California chrome triple crown


This year, horse racing fans are hopeful California Chrome will break the 36-year lull in Triple Crown winners. California Chrome won the Kentucky Derby and Preakness and is the favorite to win the Belmont Stakes.

You can read more about him here.

5. The 2014 Belmont Stakes Runs Saturday at 4:30

belmont stakes 2014


The Belmont Stakes have been run since 1867, and on Saturday June 7, the historic tradition continues. The race will begin at 4:30 p.m. EST, with pre-race coverage beginning at 2:30.

Learn more about how to watch the race below:

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Discuss on Facebook