Who won the 2015 UK General Election?

miliband cameron clegg sturgeon

Clockwise: Ed Miliband, Nick Clegg, David Cameron and Nicola Sturgeon (Getty)

The answer to the question “who won the 2015 UK General Election?” is now clear. With all but three constituencies counted, the Conservative Party have won a narrow majority, winning 327 of the 647 seats declared. The Tories will form the next government, and David Cameron will remain as Prime Minister.

Their partners in government for the last five years, the Liberal Democrats, have been decimated, losing senior party members including Danny Alexander, David Laws and Vince Cable. Nick Clegg will not be party leader for long, though there are few credible candidates left within parliament to takeover.

It’s been a desperately disappointing night for Labour, whose vote share has actually shrunk compared to 2010, in stark contrast to the array of polls produced in the last few weeks. They’ve been wiped out in Scotland, hanging on to a solitary seat, while they’ve failed to make the necessary inroads within England and Wales. It will be a surprise indeed if Ed Miliband is still Labour leader come the weekend.

Nicola Sturgeon’s SNP has won 56 of Scotland’s 59 seats, and, in Mhairi Black, return the youngest MP to Westminster in nearly 350 years. Their success in Scotland raises serious questions about the future political make-up of the United Kingdom.

Results After 650 of 650 Seats Declared

Conservative: 331
Labour: 232
SNP: 56
Liberal Democrats: 8
Ukip: 1
Other: 23

BBC Exit Poll

Conservative: 316
Labour: 239
SNP: 58
Liberal Democrats: 10
Ukip: 2
Other: 25

Read More