Republican Town Hall Tonight: What Time & Channel Is It On?

John Kasich town hall, GOP town hall, CNN town hall

John Kasich, here at a South Carolina campaign event, will appear at a CNN town hall tonight. (Getty)

With the polling race in South Carolina coming to an end soon, the GOP candidates will lay out their proposals for South Carolinians one more time in a CNN town hall hosted by CNN. Anderson Cooper will moderate the event over two days, with John Kasich, Jeb Bush and Donald Trump appearing tonight starting at 8 p.m. Eastern.


The event comes just four days before the South Carolina primary. With a wide GOP field, candidates have had trouble getting enough time to speak in the traditional debate format. Here, we’ll get to see the candidates lay out more detailed proposals in response to audience questions. Here’s a short list of possible topics.

  • GOP contentiousness: Trump and Bush have been at each other’s throats throughout the campaign, with John Kasich calling for civility in the most recent debate. Expect questions on how the candidates conduct themselves.
  • Nikki Haley: The State of the Union responder endorsed Rubio Wednesday. She’s a popular figure in South Carolina and has been mentioned in the VP conversation. Don’t be surprised if she comes up tonight, especially in light of Bush’s sparring with Rubio.
  • Last chances:  Bush and Kasich are struggling outside South Carolina, a state where Bush has bet heavily. They’ll both be asked about the future of their campaign in the face of a disappointing finish in the state.

Here’s what you need to know:

DATE: February 18, 2016

TIME: 8 p.m. Eastern


HOST: Anderson Cooper

LIVESTREAM: Click here for all the livestream details.

GOP Primary & Debate Schedule

Debate Schedule

Texas: February 26, CNN

Location TBD: March 2016, Fox News

Florida: Date TBD, CNN/Salem Radio

Primary Schedule

South Carolina: February 20

Nevada: February 23

Super Tuesday (Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Georgia, Massachusetts, Minnesota, North Dakota, Oklahoma,
Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, Wyoming): March 1

Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine: March 5

Puerto Rico: March 6

Hawaii, Idaho, Michigan, Mississippi: March 8

Guam, Washington, D.C.: March 12

Florida, Illinois, Missouri, North Carolina, Northern Mariana Islands, Ohio: March 15

Virgin Islands: March 19

American Samoa, Arizona, Utah: March 22

Wisconsin: April 5

Connecticut, Delaware, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island: April 26

Indiana: May 3

Nebraska, West Virginia: May 10

Oregon: May 17

Washington: May 24

California, Montana, New Jersey, New Mexico, South Dakota: June 7

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x