GOP Debate Tonight: What Time & Channel Is it on?

Marco Rubio debate, Donald Trump debate, GOP debate

Republican presidential candidates Jeb Bush, Marco Rubio and Donald Trump at the previous Republican debate in New Hampshire. (Getty)

With Donald Trump leading the polls and the delegate count, and several candidates dropping out or on the brink of doing so, South Carolina figures to be a crucial state in the Republican race, and it’s the site of tonight’s CBS debate. While only Trump and Ted Cruz have primary wins, Jeb Bush, John Kasich and Marco Rubio have had strong finishes in one or more states, leaving them with at least a narrow path to the nomination. For Ben Carson, meanwhile, his struggling campaign has one more chance to convince primary voters before he’s out of comeback range.

The debate will air at 9 p.m. Eastern from the Peace Center in Greenville, South Carolina. John Dickerson will be the main moderator, joined by Major Garrett and Kimberley Strassel.

Here’s what you need to know:

DATE: February 13, 2016

TIME: 8 p.m. Eastern


MODERATORS: John Dickerson

LOCATION: Peace Center, Greenville, South Carolina

LIVESTREAM: Click here for all the livestream details.

DEBATE PREVIEW: The South Carolina debate comes one week before the state’s primary on February 20. Donald Trump dominated New Hampshire, and his GOP rivals finished in a crowded field far behind him. Tonight’s debate will offer John Kasich a chance to build off momentum from his surprising New Hampshire finish, Marco Rubio a chance to recover from a disappointing finish that killed his post-Iowa surge, and Ben Carson a chance to resuscitate his ailing campaign.

A few issues that may come to the fore in this debate:

GOP Primary & Debate Schedule

Debate Schedule

Texas: February 26, CNN

Location TBD: March 2016, Fox News

Florida: Date TBD, CNN/Salem Radio

Primary Schedule

South Carolina: February 20

Nevada: February 23

Super Tuesday (Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Georgia, Massachusetts, Minnesota, North Dakota, Oklahoma,
Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, Wyoming): March 1

Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine: March 5

Puerto Rico: March 6

Hawaii, Idaho, Michigan, Mississippi: March 8

Guam, Washington, D.C.: March 12

Florida, Illinois, Missouri, North Carolina, Northern Mariana Islands, Ohio: March 15

Virgin Islands: March 19

American Samoa, Arizona, Utah: March 22

Wisconsin: April 5

Connecticut, Delaware, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island: April 26

Indiana: May 3

Nebraska, West Virginia: May 10

Oregon: May 17

Washington: May 24

California, Montana, New Jersey, New Mexico, South Dakota: June 7