What Time do Clocks Move Forward for Daylight Saving Time 2016?

daylight savings time

(Joe Raedle/Getty Images)

This Sunday, March 13, 2016 is when clocks “spring forward” to make way for an “extra hour” of daylight for Daylight Saving Time in the United States.

Daylight saving time is a set calendar date. It is always the second Sunday in March, and begins on Sunday March 13 at 2 a.m. When the clock strikes 2 a.m., it “springs” forward to to 3 a.m. for a majority of the United States.

This easy to remember because when Daylight Saving Time ends on November 6 this year, clocks “fall” backward for autumn.

States and regions that don’t participate in daylight saving time include Arizona (except for the Navajo Nation, which does it), Hawaii, and the overseas territories of Puerto Rico, American Samoa, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands, and the United States Virgin Islands. This is done for a multitude of reasons and has as much to do with local politics as it does with physical location.

While the date is officially known as “daylight saving time,” it is colloquially known as “daylight savings time” with an added “S.”

Read More