Georgia Evacuation Zones & Routes for Hurricane Matthew

Hurricane Matthew, Hurricane Matthew overhead, Hurricane Matthew satellite

Hurricane Matthew in the Caribbean Sea heading towards Jamacia, Haiti and Cuba on October 3, 2016. (Getty)

UPDATE 10/6: A mandatory evacuation has been issued in the following Georgia counties: Bryan, Chatham, Liberty, McIntosh, Glynn and Camden.

Hurricane Matthew is heading towards the state of Georgia, with several counties being placed under a state of emergency.

So far, the only mandatory evacuation in the state is on Tybee Island, with that evacuation being updated from voluntary to mandatory on Wednesday afternoon.

Thirteen counties are currently under a state of emergency: Brantley, Bryan, Bulloch, Camden, Charlton, Chatham, Effingham, Evans, Glynn, Liberty, Long, McIntosh and Wayne. Governor Nathan Deal noted that the hurricane’s path could change at any time and that mandatory evacuation orders may become necessary.

“The safety of Georgians is our first priority, and we urge residents in these areas to remain calm but vigilant as they prepare for potential impact,” Deal said in a press release.

It’s vital, then, that Georgians know their evacuation zone should the situation in the state worsen and should Hurricane Matthew’s path change. The state’s coast is divided into two zones, zone “A” and zone “B.” Consult the following map via the Georgia Hurricane Guide to see which zone you fall into:

Hurricane Matthew Georgia, Hurricane Matthew evacuation georgia, georgia evacuation zones

You should also familiarize yourself with your evacuation routes, which can be explored in depth on the Georgia Department of Education’s website. Scroll to the very bottom of the page to explore the interactive map.

Meteorologist Brad Nitz noted on Twitter that by Friday night, the center of Hurricane Matthew is expected to be about 100 miles from the shore.

Read more about Hurricane Matthew in Spanish at

Read More