Alaska Polling Hours & Key Election Day Info 2016

Alaska voting, Alaska polling, Alaska voting hours


Voters in Alaksa will head to the polls on November 8 to make their choice for President. One of the state’s two U.S. Senators and its sole Representative in the House are up for re-election.

Here’s what you need to know as you head to the polls:

POLLING HOURS & LOCATIONS: The polls in Alaska open at 7 a.m. local time and close at 8 p.m. If you are in line by 8 p.m., you are allowed to vote. Alaska voters are requited to bring an ID. To find your local polling place, click here to go to and enter your name and the last for digits of your Social Security Number or date of birth.

REGISTRATION GUIDELINES: The deadline to register to vote in Alaska passed on October 9. To find out if you are registered, click here to go to and enter your name and the last for digits of your Social Security Number or date of birth.

TRACKING RESULTS: There are several ways to track results in Alaska. For official results once the election has ended, click here to visit the Alaska Division of Elections. Local news outlets covering the election include The Alaska Dispatch News, KTUU and KTVA.

WHAT’S AT STAKE IN FEDERAL RACES: Alaska’s three electoral votes have gone to every Republican president since it became a state in 1959, except for 1964, when Alaska picked Lyndon B. Johnson. Mitt Romney beat Barack Obama by 14 points in 2012. Donald Trump is expected to easily beat Hillary Clinton in 2016.

Senator Lisa Murkowski is running for re-election, against Democrat Ray Metcalfe.

Alaska has a single Representative in the U.S. House, Republican Don Young. As House members only have two-year terms, he is up for re-election. Democrat Steve Lindbeck is running against him.

WHAT’S AT STAKE IN STATE RACES: Alaska’s independent governor, Bill Walker, was elected in 2014. He is not up for re-election until 2018.

All members of the 40-seat Alaska House of Representatives are up for election to new two-year terms. Members of the 20-seat Alaska State Senate are elected to four-year terms. Republicans currently have the majority in both houses. click here to go to the Division of Elections to learn who is running for your local offices.

There are two ballot measures in Alaska. Ballot Measure No. 1 allows individuals to register to vote when applying for a permanent fund dividend. Ballot Measure No. 2 is a constitutional amendment that will allow the state to incur debt “by letting the State issue general obligation bonds backed by the state for postsecondary student loans.”