Inauguration Day 2017: When Does the New President Get Sworn In?

when does the new president get sworn in, inauguration date 2017, inauguration date 2016, when does clinton get sworn in, when does trump get sworn in, when is inauguration


The winner of the 2016 presidential election will be sworn in on Friday, January 20, 2017, also known as Inauguration Day.

Until noon on January 20, 2017, President Obama will still serve as president of the United States. The swearing in ceremony will take place at the US Capitol. From the presidency of Andrew Jackson through Jimmy Carter, the Inauguration Day ceremony took place on the Capitol’s East Portico, and since 1981, it has been held at the Capitol’s West Front. While Inauguration Day is a ceremonial event that takes place once every four years, most schools, stores, and organizations operate on their normal schedules. (It is worth noting, however, that Inauguration Day is a federal holiday for many employees who work in DC and the surrounding areas. This year, DC, Louisiana, Maryland, and Virginia will recognize the day as a state holiday.)

The vice-president is typically sworn in first, followed by the new president at exactly 12:00pm noon. After the ceremony, the new president and VP attend a luncheon held by Congress, in which they are the guests of honor.

Prior to the Twentieth Amendment, Inauguration Day took place on March 4, when the Constitution first took effect in 1789. The last president to officially be sworn in on that date was Franklin D. Roosevelt on March 4, 1933. In addition to the public, members of Congress, Supreme Court justices, high-ranking military officers, former presidents, living Medal of Honor recipients, and other dignitaries are invited to attend the inauguration ceremony.

The festivities involve a swearing-in ceremony, organized by the Joint Congressional Committee on Inaugural Ceremonies, followed by the luncheon, and then a parade down Pennsylvania Avenue.

Read more about the inauguration in Spanish at