Indiana Polling Hours & Key Election Day Info 2016

Indiana ballot, Indiana polling hours, Indiana polling places


Indiana voters will head to the polls on November 8 to pick the U.S. President, a new Governor, a new U.S. Senator and nine U.S. House members.

Here’s what you need to know as you head to the polls:

POLLING HOURS & LOCATIONS: Polls are open in Indiana from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. local time. If you are in line by 6 p.m., you can still vote. If you live in a county that observes central time, your polling place will also follow central time. You need to bring a photo ID with you to vote. To find your polling location, click here to visit

REGISTRATION GUIDELINES: Indiana does not have same-day voter registration and the deadline passed on October 11. To check your registration status, click here to visit

TRACKING RESULTS: There are several ways to track results in Indiana. After the election, complete results will be available at the Indiana Election Division website. You can follow real-time results at local media outlets, including the Indianapolis Star, WTHR, WISH and FOX59.

WHAT’S AT STAKE IN FEDERAL RACES: Indiana’s 11 electoral votes are expected to go to Donald Trump, who picked Indiana Governor Mike Pence as his running-mate. Republicans have done much better in Indiana than Democrats, who have only won the state in eight presidential elections since 1860. The last time a Democrat won the state was 2008, when Barack Obama won. However, Obama lost the state in 2012.

Indiana will elect a new U.S. Senator this year. Republican Todd Young, Democrat Evan Bayh and Libertarian Lucy Brenton are competing for the seat seat currently held by Dan Coats. The seat is considered a toss-up, as Bayh and Young have been close in recent polls.

All nine Indiana U.S. House Representatives are running for re-election. The state currently has two Democrats and seven Republicans in Congress.

WHAT’S AT STAKE IN STATE RACES: Pence pulled out of the race for Governor after Trump picked him for Vice President. Pence’s lieutenant governor, Eric Holcomb, is running to be his successor and picked state auditor Suzanne Crouch as his lieutenant governor. Holcomb’s Democratic opponent is former State Speaker of the House John Gregg, who tapped State Rep. Christina Hale as his running-mate. The latest polls have Gregg just ahead of Holcomb, but it is still a toss-up.

Indiana voters will also chose between Lorenzo Arrendondo (D) and Curtis Hill (R) for state attorney general. There are also 25 of 50 seats in the Indiana State Senate and all 100 seats in the Indiana House of Representatives up for election.

For a look at the candidates on the Indiana ballot, click below.