Hawaii Election Ballot 2016: Candidates for Each Office

Hawaii ballot, Hawaii voters, Hawaii candidates


On November 8, voters in Hawaii will vote for U.S. President and will pick a new U.S. Senator. The state also has two U.S. House seats up for election.

To see what the ballot looks like in your district, click here to use Ballotpedia’s Sample Ballot Lookup tool.

Here is a look at the candidates on the ballot in Hawaii.

U.S. President

There are five candidates for President of the U.S. on the Hawaii ballot. They are:

U.S. Senate

  • Brian Schatz (D – Incumbent)
  • John Carroll (R)
  • Michael Kokoski (L)
  • Joy Allison (Constitution)
  • John Giuffre (American Shopping)

U.S. House of Representatives

District 1

  • Colleen Hanabusa (D – Previously held the seat from 2011-2015)
  • Shirlene Ostrov (R)
  • Alan Yim (L)
  • Calvin Griffin (Independent)

District 2

  • Tulsi Gabbard (D – Incumbent)
  • Angela Aulani Kaaihue (R)
  • Richard Turner (Independent)

State Legislative Races

Fourteen of the 25 Hawaii State Senate seats are up for election on November 8. All but one member of the State Senate are Democrats and many up for re-election are running unopposed. State Senators are elected to four-year terms.

All 51 seats in the Hawaii House of Representatives are up for election. There are only seven Republicans currently in the Hawaii State House and only two Democrats are not running for re-election. House members are elected to two-year terms.

Hawaii’s current governor is Democrat David Ige. The next gubernatorial election is not until November 2018.

For information on when polls open and close in Hawaii, click below.

No Comments