Neil Gorsuch Senate Vote: Final Vote Tally

Neil Gorsuch, Colorado Supreme Court Justices, Colorado Supreme Court

Neil Gorsuch has been confirmed to the U.S. Supreme Court. (Getty)

Neil Gorsuch has been confirmed as the next Supreme Court justice of the United States.

Gorsuch was confirmed by the Senate in a 54 to 45 vote on Friday, April 7th. This means that he earned the vote of every Republican in the Senate plus three Democrats; one Republican, Johnny Isakson, did not vote.

The three Democrats who voted for Neil Gorsuch’s confirmation were Heidi Heitkamp of North Dakota, Joe Manchin of West Virginia, and Joe Donnelly of Indiana.

Joe Donnelly had previously said that Gorsuch “is a qualified jurist who will base his decisions on his understanding of the law and is well-respected among his peers,” according to the Indy Star.

According to Politico, Manchin said that Gorsuch has “been consistently rated as a well-qualified jurist, the highest rating a jurist can receive, and I have found him to be an honest and thoughtful man. I have no illusions that I will agree with every decision that Judge Gorsuch will make in the future, but I have not found any reasons why this jurist should not be a Supreme Court justice.”

Finally, Heidi Heitkamp said she was voting for Gorsuch because the Supreme Court should be above politics, though she said she was “disturbed” by what happened to Merrick Garland.

“But I was taught that two wrongs don’t make a right,” Heitkamp said, according to Politico. “There isn’t a perfect judge. Regardless of which party is in the White House, the U.S. Supreme Court should be above politics.”

Here’s the final vote tally for the Neil Gorsuch confirmation:


  • Lamar Alexander
  • John Barrasso
  • Roy Blunt
  • John Boozman
  • Richard Burr
  • Shelley Moore Capito
  • Bill Cassidy
  • Thad Cochran
  • Susan Collins
  • Bob Corker
  • John Cornyn
  • Tom Cotton
  • Mike Crapo
  • Ted Cruz
  • Steve Daines
  • Joe Donnelly
  • Mike Enzi
  • Joni Ernst
  • Deb Fischer
  • Jeff Flake
  • Cory Gardner
  • Lindsey Graham
  • Chuck Grassley
  • Orrin Hatch
  • Heidi Heitkamp
  • Dean Heller
  • John Hoeven
  • Jim Inhofe
  • Ron Johnson
  • John N. Kennedy
  • James Lankford
  • Mike Lee
  • Joe Manchin
  • John McCain
  • Mitch McConnell
  • Jerry Moran
  • Lisa Murkowski
  • Rand Paul
  • David Perdue
  • Rob Portman
  • Jim Risch
  • Pat Roberts
  • Mike Rounds
  • Marco Rubio
  • Ben Sasse
  • Tim Scott
  • Richard Shelby
  • Luther Strange
  • Dan Sullivan
  • John Thune
  • Thom Tillis
  • Pat Toomey
  • Roger Wicker
  • Todd Young


  • Tammy Baldwin
  • Michael Bennet
  • Richard Blumenthal
  • Cory Booker
  • Sherrod Brown
  • Maria Cantwell
  • Ben Cardin
  • Tom Carper
  • Bob Casey Jr.
  • Chris Coons
  • Catherine Cortez Masto
  • Tammy Duckworth
  • Dick Durbin
  • Dianne Feinstein
  • Al Franken
  • Kirsten Gillibrand
  • Kamala Harris
  • Maggie Hassan
  • Martin Heinrich
  • Mazie Hirono
  • Tim Kaine
  • Angus King
  • Amy Klobuchar
  • Patrick Leahy
  • Ed Markey
  • Claire McCaskill
  • Bob Menendez
  • Jeff Merkley
  • Chris Murphy
  • Patty Murray
  • Bill Nelson
  • Gary Peters
  • Jack Reed
  • Bernie Sanders
  • Brian Schatz
  • Chuck Schumer
  • Jeanne Shaheen
  • Debbie Stabenow
  • Jon Tester
  • Tom Udall
  • Chris Van Hollen
  • Mark Warner
  • Elizabeth Warren
  • Sheldon Whitehouse
  • Ron Wyden
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x