Sinema, McSally Election Results: Sinema Winning by a Razor’s Edge

Sinema McSally


Republican Martha McSally and Democrat Kyrsten Sinema have been embroiled in a tight race for Jeff Flake’s vacated Arizona Senate seat for the last year. Two days later, that election is still being tallied, and Sinema has creeped into a razor-thin lead of a few thousand votes.

As of 8:23 PM, eastern time, here are the results of the Arizona Senate race, with 99 percent of the precincts reporting (1,482 of 1,489), per Arizona’s official election site:

Kyrsten Sinema (D): 49.1% (932,870 votes total)

Martha McSally (R): 48.59% (923,260 votes total)

There are still thousands of votes to be counted in these last remaining counties, per the Arizona Data Guru:

Apache: 4.6k

Cochise: 4.7k

Coconino: 10.5k

Gila: unk (0 est.)

La Paz: 576

Maricopa: 345k

Mohave: unk (8k est.)

Navajo: 4k

Pima: 80k

Pinal: 30k

Santa Cruz: 2.2k

Yavapai: 6k

Yuma: 350

The New York Times election coverage of the Arizona Senate race is no longer up to date. To keep track of the results, use Arizona’s official election site. 

In the days leading up to the election, RealClearPolitics ranked the election as a tossup, with Sinema and McSally polling within a point of one another. The tight competition has already served to signal a political change in Arizona, which has historically been a strongly red state. If Sinema wins, it will reflect the first official proof of the blue shift within Arizona.


Read More