Australian Open Tennis History & Past Winners



The Australian Open is one of the best tennis events of the year. The historic tournament has seen many great wins and famous milestones in the history of the game. Some of the best rivals have had their best matches in this tournament.

Last 5 Australian Open Winners

2014: Stanislas Wawrinka def Rafael Nadal: 6-3, 6-2, 3-6, 6-3

Li Na def Dominika Cibulkova: 7-6, 6-0

2013: Novak Djokovic def Andy Murray: 6-7, 7-6, 6-3, 6-2

Victoria Azarenka def. Li Na: 4-6, 6-4, 6-3

2012: Novak Djokovic def. Rafeal Nadal: 5-7, 6-4, 6-2, 6-7, 7-5

Victoria Azarenka def. Maria Sharapova: 6-3, 6-0

2011: Novak Djokovic def.  Andy Murray: 6-4, 6-2, 6-3

Kim Clijsters  def. Li Na: 3-6, 6-3, 6-3

2010: Roger Federer def. Andy Murray: 6-3, 6-4, 7-6

Serena Williams def.  Justine Henin: 6-4, 3-6, 6-2

Memorable Australian Open Matches



This tournament’s seen the height of competition between rivals and historic championship matches. This is one of the biggest stages in tennis and these players brought their A-game in some of the best matches in history.

Andre Agassi def. Pete Sampras, 2000

VideoVideo related to australian open tennis history & past winners2015-01-16T09:34:31-05:00

This matchup included two of the best tennis players in the world. Sampras and Agassi already met in the tournament finals in 1995, the rematch was everything a tennis fan hoped for. The two battled in one of the most memorable semifinal matches  in 2000. Sampras was a tiebreaker away from winning the match in four sets, but Agassi would not go away winning the fourth set tiebreaker and then winning the fifth set 6-1.

Novak Djokovic def. Rafael Nadal, 2012



2012’s Australian Open final was an instant classic. Novak Djokovic and Rafael Nadal met in the Australian Open finals for the first time ever in the tournament. The rivals battled back and forth in a match that became the longest running match in Australian Open history.The five hour, 53 minute showdown ended with Djokovic victorious, winning the final set 7-5.

Serena Williams def. Venus Williams, 2003



The Williams sisters’ rivalry is one of the great rivalries in tennis history. In 2003 Serena asserted her dominance over her sister Venus when she defeated her in the Australian Open finals. Serena defeated her sister in three sets: 7-6, 3-6, 6-4.

Francesca Schiavone def. Svetlana Kuznetsova, 2011



The 2011 Australian Open featured one of the most memorable women’s matches of the tournament’s history. In the round of 16, Schiavone and Kuznetsova played a match that lasted four hours, 44 minutes: the longest women’s match in Grand Slam history.  Schiavone outlasted Kuznetsova and the final sets results were 6-4, 1-6, 16-14. Schiavone later lost to Caroline Wozniacki in the Quarterfinals.

First Aussie Open Final in Tournament History



This tournament has been held since 1905. The first inaugural tournament champion was Rodney Heath. Heath defeated Arthur Curtis in four sets: 4-6, 6-3, 6-4, 6-4. A women’s tournament was not held until 1922. Mall Molesworth defeated Esna Boyd in straight sets: 6-3 and 10-8.

List of All Australian Open Winners



2014: Stanlisas Wawrinka and Li Na

2013: Novak Djokovic and Victoria Azarenka

2012: Novak Djokovic and Victoria Azarenka

2011: Novak Djokovic and Kim Clijsters

2010: Roger Federer and Serena Williams

2009: Rafael Nadal and Serena Williams

2008: Novak Djokovic and Maria Sharapova

2007: Roger Federer and Serena Williams

2006: Roger Federer and Amelie Mauresmo

2005: Marat Safin and Serena Williams

2004: Roger Federer and Justine Henin

2003: Andre Agassi and Serena Williams

2002: Thomas Johansson and Jennifer Capirati

2001: Andre Agassi and Jennifer Capirati

2000:Andre Agassi and Lindsay Davenport

1999: Yevgeny Kafelnikov and Martina Hingis

1998: Petr Korda and Martina Hingis

1997: Pete Sampras and Martina Hingis

1996:Boris Becker and Monica Seles

1995: Andre Agassi and Mary Pierce

1994: Pete Sampras and Steffi Graf

1993: Jim Courier and Monica Seles

1992: Jim Courier and Monica Seles

1991: Boris Becker and Monica Seles

1990: Ivan Lendi and Steffi Graf

1989: Ivan Lendi and Steffi Graf

1988: Mats Wilander and Steffi Graf

1987: Stefan Edberg and Hana Mandlikova

1986: Tournament was not held

1985: Stefan Edberg and Martina Navratilova

1984: Mats Wilander and Chirs Evert

1983: Mats Wilander and Martina Navratilova

1982: Johan Kriek and Chris Evert

1981: Johan Kriek and Martina Navratilova

1980: Brian Teacher and Hana Mandlikova

1979: Guillermo Vilas and Barbara Jordan

1978: Guillermo Vilas and Chris O’Neil

1977: Roscoe Tanner and Kerry Melville Reid

1977: Vitas Gerulaitis and Evonne Goolagong Cawley

*Two tournaments were held in 1977 because the tournament was moved to December at the end of 1977. *

1976: Mark Edmondson and Evonne Goolagong Cawley

1975: John Newcombe and Evonne Goolagong Cawley

1974: Jimmy Connors and Evonne Goolagong Cawley

1973: John Newcombe and Margaret Court

1972: Ken Rosewall and Virginia Wade

1971: Ken Rosewall and Margaret Court

1970: Arthur Ashe and Margaret Court

1969: Rod Laver and Margaret Court

1968: William Bowery and Billie Jean King

1967: Roy Emerson and Nancy Richey

1966: Roy Emerson and Margaret Court

1965: Roy Emerson and Margaret Court

1964: Roy Emerson and Margaret Court

1963: Roy Emerson and Margaret Court

1962: Rod Laver and Margaret Court

1961: Roy Emerson and Margaret Court

1960: Rod Laver and Margaret Court

1959: Alex Olmedo and Mary Carter Reitano

1958: Ashley Cooper and Angela Mortimer Barrett

1957: Ashley Cooper and Shirley Fry Irvin

1956: Lew Hoad and Mary Carter Reitano

1955: Ken Rosewall and Beryl Penrose Collier

1954: Mervyn Rose and Thelma Coyne Long

1953: Ken Rosewall and Maureen Conolly Brinker

1952: Ken McGregor and Thelma Coyne Long

1951: Dick Savitt and Nancye Wynne Bolton

1950: Frank Sedgeman and Louise Brough

1949:Frank Sedgeman and Doris Hart

1948: Adrian Quist and Nancye Wynne Bolton

1947: Dinny Pails and Nancye Wynne Bolton

1946:John Bromwich and Nancye Wynne Bolton

*Tournament was not held from 1941-1945*

1940:  Adrian Quist and Nancy Wynne Bolton

1939:John Bromwich and Emily Hood Westcott

1938:Don Budge and Dorothy Cheney

1937:Vivian Mcgrath and Nancy Wynne Bolton

1936:Adrian Quist and Joan Hartigan Bathurst

1935: Jack Crawford and Dorothy Round Little

1934: Fred Perry and Joan Hartigan Bathurst

1933: Jack Crawford and Joan Hartigan Bathurst

1932: Jack Crawford and Coral Buttsworth

1931:Jack Crawford and Coral Buttsworth

1930: Edgar Moon and Daphne Akhurst Cozens

1929: John Colin Gregory and Daphne Akhurst Cozens

1928: Jean Borotra and Daphne Akhurst Cozens

1927: Gerald Patterson and Esna Boyd Robertson

1926: John Hawkes and Daphne Akhurst Cozens

1925: James Anderson and Daphne Akhurst Cozens

1924:James Anderson and Sylvia Lance Harper

1923: Pat O’Hara Wood and Margaret Molesowrth

1922: James Anderson and Margaret Molesworth

1921: Rhys Gemmel

1920: Pat O’Hara Wood

1919: Algernon Kingscoate

*Tournament was not held from 1916-1918*

1915: Gordon Lowe

1914: Arthur O’Hara Wood

1913: Ernie Parker

1912: James Cecil Parke

1911: Norman Brookes

1910: Rodney Heath

1909: Anthony Wilding

1908: Fred Alexander

1907: Horace Rice

1906: Anthony Wilding

1905: Rodney Heath

Comment Here
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x