Tom Brady vs Peyton Manning: Playoff Records & Stats

Tom Brady, Peyton Manning, New England Patriots, Denver Broncos, NFL Playoffs, AFC Championship game


Tom Brady and Peyton Manning have both put up eye-popping stats in both the regular season and postseason.

Both Brady and Manning have each started more 20 postseason games. Brady has started 27 games and Manning has started 23. The only player to start more games than Brady’s 27 was Hall of Famer Jerry Rice with 29. Rice appeared in four Super Bowls and won three.

Only 10 quarterbacks in NFL history have won at least 10 postseason games.

Manning’s Broncos fell short to the Colts in Sunday’s divisional playoff game. Manning and Brady may never square off in the postseason again if Manning chooses to move on from football after this season.

Here’s a look at how the two Hall of Famers stack up:

Playoff Wins: Brady 19, Manning 11



Brady has 19 playoff wins as a starting quarterback, which is the most in NFL history. His 19-8 record overall gives him a winning percentage of .704, which is the highest among those players with at least 20 playoff starts. 49ers Hall of Famer Joe Montana is No. 2 with 16 wins and Pittsburgh Steelers Hall of Famer Terry Bradshaw and Denver Broncos Hall of Famer John Elway each has 14 wins.

In 23 games, Manning hasn’t seen quite the success that Brady has. Manning is 11-13 (a .458 winning percentage).

VideoVideo related to tom brady vs peyton manning: playoff records & stats2015-01-11T13:16:52-05:00

Regular Season Head-to-Head: Brady 11, Manning 5

Tom Brady, Peyton Manning, New England Patriots, Denver Broncos, NFL Playoffs, AFC Championship game


Head-to-head games also favor Brady. In the 16 times (a full NFL season) these two players have played against each other, Brady is 11-5 vs. Manning.

Postseason Head-to-Head: Tied at 2

Tom Brady, Peyton Manning, New England Patriots, Denver Broncos, NFL Playoffs, AFC Championship game


Their playoff record, however, is even at 2-2. Brady owns 2003-04 AFC Championship Game and 2004-05 Divisional Round Game victories over Manning while Manning owns 2006-07 and 2013-14 AFC Championship Game victories over Brady.

In 27 playoff games, Brady has a 62.3 completion percentage, 6,791 passing yards, 46 touchdowns and 23 interceptions a (2-1) ratio. In 23 playoff games, Manning has a 64.3 completion percentage, 6,589 passing yards, 37 touchdowns and 24 interceptions.

Super Bowl Titles: Brady 3, Manning 1

Tom Brady and Robert Kraft, Super Bowl XXXIX, Patriots Eagles Super Bowl 2005

Tom Brady celebrates with Patriots owner Robert Kraft after the Patriots beat the Eagles in Super Bowl XXXIX. (Getty)

Last, but most certainly not least — and this is where many critics firmly have Brady ahead of Manning — Brady has been to the Super Bowl five times, winning in 2001-02, 2003-04 and 2004-05 while losing 2007-08 and 2011-12. Four of Brady’s Super Bowl appearances were decided by three points. the most recent in 2012 was decided by four points (21-17 loss to the New York Giants).

NFL Videos Super Bowl Memories Super Bowl XXXVI.m4vDespues de un inicio de 0-2 en 2001 quien diria que los New England Patriots lograrian ganar el Super Bowl XXXVI derrotando los mas que favoritos St. Louis Rams guiados por un QB de 2do año llamado Tom Brady quien seria seleccionado como el MVP de este juego STL 17-20 NE2010-09-21T14:51:58.000Z

Manning has been to the Super Bowl three times and is 1-2 in his three appearances. He won in 2006-07 (defeating the Chicago Bears with Rex Grossman as their starting quarterback) and lost in 2009-10 and 2013-14. In 2010 against the Saints, Manning fell short to Drew Brees in a 31-17 loss. In 2014, Manning fell short to Russell Wilson in a 43-8 blowout loss.

Although Manning has won five regular season MVP Awards, there is this perception that more often than not, and the stats kind of prove this, that he isn’t nearly as effective in the postseason as he is during the regular season when compared to his historical counterpart.