List of Kentucky Derby Records, Facts & Figures

California Chrome, Victor Espinoza, Kentucky Derby

Victor Espinoza celebrates after riding California Chrome to victory. (Getty)

Throughout this past week, Heavy has extensively covered the 141st running of the Kentucky Derby.

The 20 horses competing at Churchill Downs have an opportunity to add their name to an illustrious list of past winners.

Since its inception, the first Saturday in May has evolved into one of sports’ yearly must-see spectacles, and has become a hub for sports, entertainment and news personalities and countless other celebrities. The race’s fashion has evolved over the years as well.

Here are some Kentucky Derby records and other facts and figures regarding the race itself:


The Kentucky Derby has utilized its starting gate since 1930.

The Kentucky Derby has utilized its starting gate since 1930.

Most wins by a jockey:
5 by Eddie Arcaro (1938, 1941, 1945, 1948, 1952)
5 by Bill Hartack (1957, 1960, 1962, 1964, 1969)

Most wins by a trainer:
6 by Ben A. Jones (1938, 1941, 1944, 1948, 1949, 1952)

Most wins by an owner:
8 – Calumet Farm (1941, 1944, 1948, 1949, 1952, 1957, 1958, 1968)

Fastest Time in a Kentucky Derby Race:
1:59.40 by Secretariat in 1973

Largest Margin of Victory:
8 lengths by Assault 1946
8 lengths by Whirlaway in 1941

Longest Shot:
Donerail went off at 91/1 in 1913.

Calvin Borel is the only jockey to win three out of four consecutive Kentucky Derbys. He won in 2007 with Street Sense, 2009 with Mine That Bird and 2010 with Super Saver.


Art Sherman

Jockey, Victor Espinoza, with trainer, Art Sherman, after winning the 140th running of the Kentucky Derby. (Getty)

The Derby is the first race in horse racing’s coveted Triple Crown, which also includes the Preakness Stakes and the Belmont Stakes.

The Kentucky Derby takes place annually at Churchill Downs and has been since its first race over 140 years ago. (The Preakness Stakes takes place at Pimlico in Baltimore, Maryland and The Belmont Stakes takes place at Belmont Park in Elmont, New York)

The Derby is also referred to as “The Run for the Roses” due to the garland of 554 red roses draped over the winner. It is also referred to as “The Most Exciting Two Minutes in Sports.”

Currently, the Derby is comprised of the 20 best three-year old mares (male horses). Originally, the race was made up of 15.

The first Kentucky Derby took place on May 17, 1875. The first Kentucky Derby winner was Aristides.

The Kentucky Derby was first run at 1-1/2 miles (2.4 kilometres), the same distance as the Epsom Derby. The distance was changed in 1896 to its current 1-1/4 miles (2.0 kilometres).

No Derby has ever been postponed because of rain or bad weather.




There have been 11 Triple Crown winners:
– Sir Barton in 1919
– Gallant Fox in 1930
– Omaha in 1935
– War Admiral in 1937
– Whirlaway in 1941
– Count Fleet in 1943
– Assault in 1946
– Citation in 1948
– Secretariat in 1973
– Seattle Slew in 1977
– Affirmed in 1978.

Only three fillies (female horses) have won the Derby: Regret (1915), Genuine Risk (1980) and Winning Colors (1988). The last female horse to win a stretch of the Triple Crown was when Rachel Alexandria won the Preakness Stakes in 2009

Since 1990, there have been nine instances where horses have won the first two of the three legs of the Triple Crown.
– Silver Charm in 1997
– Real Quiet in 1998
– Charismatic in 1999
– War Emblem in 2002
– Funny Cide in 2003
– Smarty Jones in 2004
– Big Brown in 2008 — did not finish the Belmont stakes and was euthanized on the track.
– I’ll Have Another in 2012 — was scratched from the 2012 Belmont Stakes
– California Chrome in 2014

Here are the last 10 Kentucky Derby results (win, place and show):

Date: Win: Place: Show: Time:
5/3/2014 California Chrome Commanding Curve Danza 02:03.7
5/4/2013 Orb Golden Soul Revolutionary 02:02.9
5/5/2012 I’ll Have Another Bodemeister Dullahan 02:01.8
5/7/2011 Animal Kingdom Nehro Mucho Macho Man 02:02.0
5/1/2010 Super Saver Ice Box Paddy O’Prado 02:04.5
5/2/2009 Mine That Bird Pioneer Of The Nile Musket Man 02:02.7
5/3/2008 Big Brown Eight Belles Denis Of Cork 02:01.8
5/5/2007 Street Sense Hard Spun Curlin 02:02.2
5/6/2006 Barbaro Bluegrass Cat Steppenwolfer 02:01.4
5/7/2005 Giacomo Closing Argument Afleet Alex 02:02.8

There have been 140 previous Kentucky Derby winners, and 289 horses in total have won at least one Triple Crown race. 52 horses have won two of the races — 23 the Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes, 18 the Preakness Stakes and Belmont Stakes, and 11 the Kentucky Derby and Belmont Stakes — and 11 horses have won all three races. The last horse to win the Triple Crown was Affirmed in 1978.

Post time for the 2015 Kentucky Derby is 6:24 p.m. Eastern on NBC.

Comment Here
Notify of
1 Comment
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x