Indy 500 2016: Total Purse, Winning Share & Payouts

indy 500 2016 prize money total purse winning share driver payouts

Juan Pablo Montoya earned nearly $2.5 million for winning the 2015 Indy 500. (Getty)

The Indianapolis 500 is basically the Super Bowl of the Indy Car series.

A win at Indy not only looks great on the resume, but it also fattens your bank account. Just as it will for 2016 winner Alexander Rossi, who happens to be a rookie.

Rossi earned $2,548,743 of the total purse, which totaled $13,273,253.

The purse is based on a number of factors, including ticket sales, television deals and sponsorships. The exact amount should be known soon. This post will be updated when the figure becomes available, so bookmark us and check back.

2015 winner, Juan Pablo Montoya, won $2.449 million out of a total purse of $13.397 million.

Montoya won’t be taking home the winning share this year, though, as a crash ended his Indy run early in the race.

Here’s a breakdown of the race’s purse over the last 5 years:

2015 — Juan Pablo Montoya, $2.449 million out of $13.397 million

2014 — Ryan Hunter-Reay, $2.491 million out of $14.231 million

2013 — Tony Kanaan, $2.353 million out of $12.020 million

2012 — Dario Franchitti, $2.474 million out of $13.285 million

2011 — Dan Wheldon, $2.567 million out of $13.509 million

2015 Indy 500 HighlightsHighlights from the 99th running of the Indianapolis 500.2015-05-26T14:34:58.000Z

Comment Here
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x