NASCAR Michigan 2016 Results: Winner & Updated Standings

nascar michigan results, nascar michigan winner, who won the nascar race today, nascar results, nascar michigan 2016, firekeepers 2016 results


NASCAR at Michigan 2016 Results

Pole-sitter Joey Logano led for almost the entire way at Michigan International Speedway on Sunday afternoon, racing to a victory at the FireKeepers Casino 400.

The win was the first of the season for Logano, who was able to hold off rising star Chase Elliott and Kyle Larson.

Here’s a look at the Top 10 (you can see the full leaderboard here):

Position Driver Laps Led
1 Joey Logano 139
2 Chase Elliott 35
3 Kyle Larson 1
4 Brad Keselowski 10
5 Kevin Harvick 0
6 Carl Edwards 0
7 Tony Stewart 0
8 Austin Dillon 0
9 Jamie McMurray 0
10 Kurt Busch 0

You can read on for the highlights from the race, as well as the updated Sprint Cup standings:


Martin Truex, after slight contact with Clint Bowyer, spun out to force a caution on Lap No. 46:

Kyle Busch tallied three wins and nine Top-5 finishes in the first 11 points races of the season, but he’s now had four disappointing showings in a row:

Dale Earnhardt Jr. went to the garage after this crash on Lap No. 62:

Jeffery Earnhardt’s smoking vehicle brought out another caution on Lap No. 108:

After Joey Logano led for most of the race, youngster Chase Elliott made the pass on Lap No. 116:

Casey Mears, Brian Scott and Danica Patrick were involved in a crash on Lap No. 154:

Joey Logano came out of the restart in first, but there was another caution on Lap No. 162, as Trevor Bayne and Jimmie Johnson made contact, sending the latter into the wall:

There were two more cautions after that, but Logano held onto the lead at each restart, holding off Elliott and Kyle Larson for the victory.

Sprint Cup Standings

Note: These are updated after Michigan’s results. You can click here for the complete standings.

Rank Driver Points Wins
1 Kyle Busch 417 3
2 Brad Keselowski 480 2
3 Carl Edwards 472 2
4 Jimmie Johnson 441 2
5 Kevin Harvick 526 1
6 Kurt Busch 496 1
7 Joey Logano 455 1
8 Martin Truex Jr. 433 1
9 Matt Kenseth 409 1
10 Denny Hamlin 380 1
11 Chase Elliott 453 0
12 Dale Earnhardt Jr. 383 0
13 Austin Dillon 381 0
14 Jamie McMurray 374 0
15 Ryan Newman 369 0
16 Ryan Blaney 364 0

Read More