New Cowboys WR CeeDee Lamb Officially Chooses Historic Jersey Number

CeeDee Lamb

Getty Wide receiver CeeDee Lamb celebrates a touchdown against UCLA.

CeeDee Lamb will not be “rocking No. 10 this year.”

After Dallas Cowboys owner Jerry Jones interjected with his preference, the highly-prized rookie wide receiver evidently opted to wear No. 88, which carries significance beyond repeating digits.

The Cowboys made the announcement Thursday on their official Twitter account.

Lamb becomes only the 12th player in franchise history to don No. 88 — the first since Dez Bryant, who last played for Dallas in 2017. The number has been associated with some of the greatest players in team and league lore, including Hall of Fame WR Michael Irvin and Ring of Honor inductee Drew Pearson.

Not bad company to keep for Lamb, the No. 17 overall draft pick with his own Canton-bound projections. Wisely, the stud Oklahoma product is appeasing his boss by honoring Jones’ close friend and former college teammate Jerry Lamb, who passed away last year.

“Just like Michael [Irvin] and Dez [Bryant] and those guys, and we’ve got us a wide receiver,” Jones said after selecting Lamb, via Blogging the Boys. “And let me tell you one thing: if he’s got the competitiveness and heart of that Jerry Lamb, he’ll be bad to the bone.”

Number aside, Lamb — whose four-year rookie deal is projected to cost roughly $14 million, with about $7.7 million guaranteed and a fifth-year club option — slides in as the third receiver behind Amari Cooper and Michael Gallup, forming arguably the sport’s best troika.

Follow the Heavy on Cowboys Facebook page for the latest breaking news, rumors and content!

Cowboys Give Byron Jones’ Jersey Number to Top Pick

The Cowboys used their premium Day 2 selection in the 2020 NFL draft, No. 51 overall, on Alabama cornerback Trevon Diggs. Then they assigned Diggs the number — No. 31 — of former first-round CB Byron Jones, it was announced Monday.

Diggs becomes the 18th player in franchise history to don those digits, worn by Jones, the Cowboys’ former first-round pick, from 2015-19. But he wasn’t the most notable.

That would be former Cowboys defensive back Roy Williams, who wore No. 31 from 2002-07, a span of 131 games. Why most notable? In addition to being a No. 8 overall pick, Williams was a five-time Pro Bowler and former first-team All-Pro selection before ending his career with the Bengals.

Among others to drape No. 31 on their bodies: Former Cowboys DB Benny Barnes, who won a Super Bowl with the organization; quarterback Brock Marion; safety George Teague; and DBs Otto Brown and Mike Jenkins. It’s quite the group.

In other jersey news, third-round defensive lineman will wear No. 75, Robinson took No. 41, fourth-round center Tyler Biadasz got No. 63, and fifth-round defensive end Bradlee Anae was awarded No. 51.

READ NEXT: Highlights of Cowboys’ Explosive New WR CeeDee Lamb [WATCH]

Follow Zack Kelberman on Twitter: @KelbermanNFL

Comment Here
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x