Vikings Defense to Blame for Dalvin Cook All-Pro Snub?

Dalvin Cook

Courtesy of Vikings Dalvin Cook was recently snubbed from the All-Pro list due to a monstrous performance by Alvin Kamara against the Vikings.

Minnesota Vikings running back Dalvin Cook showed what he could do when he’s healthy this season.

Cook finished second in rushing yards (1,557), second in yards from scrimmage (1,918) and third in total touchdowns (17) despite missing the final game of the season due to his father’s death.

Only Tennessee Titans running back Derrick Henry was a more productive runner, claiming the running back crown for a second consecutive year after posting 2,027 yards this season. Henry earned first-team All-Pro honors for the first time in his career on Tuesday, garnering 47 of 50 total votes.

Cook’s performance should have at least warranted a few votes from the Associated Press polled writers. He received none. New Orleans Saints running back Alvin Kamara was the recipient of the other three available votes — earning his first All-Pro mention as a member of the second team.

Kamara’s only edge on Cook statistically was a league-leading 21 total touchdowns. Had the Vikings not allowed Kamara to tie a 91-year-old record of six rushing touchdowns in a single game on Christmas, Tuesday’s poll may have included Cook regardless of him not playing the final game of the season.

Die-hard Vikings fan? Follow the Heavy on Vikings Facebook page for the latest breaking news, rumors and content out of Skol Nation!

Cole Beasley Earns All-Pro Recognition Over Adam Thielen

Cook wasn’t the only player from Minnesota who was overlooked. Adam Thielen posted a career-high 14 touchdown receptions — good for third in the league behind only Davante Adams (18) and Tyreek Hill (15). Both stars whose teams are playoff-bound were named first-team All-Pro. Thielen did not receive a single vote.

Know who did though? Not one but two Buffalo Bills wide receivers.

Stefon Diggs was a shoo-in with his league-best 127 catches and 1,535 receiving yards. But Cole Beasley?

Beasley had 42 more yards than Adam Thielen’s 925 yards in 15 games played but 10 fewer touchdowns on the season.

The polled writers’ decision-making process clearly weighed team success. Diggs and Beasley helped the Bills claim their first AFC East title in 25 years, while many Vikings were neglected after falling short of a playoff berth.

However, there was one Minnesota player that received some recognition for their record-breaking season.

 Justin Jefferson Earns Second-Team All-Pro Honors

Justin Jefferson

Courtesy of VikingsJustin Jefferson became the first rookie wide receiver to earn All-Pro honors since Randy Moss.

Justin Jefferson broke Anquan Boldin’s Super Bowl-era rookie receiving yards record, posting 1,400 receiving yards despite not starting until the third game of the season.

Jefferson didn’t make first-team All-Pro, which includes Adams, Hill and Diggs, however, he did garner five votes as the fifth-highest vote-getter among all wideouts, becoming the first wide receiver since Randy Moss in 1998 to make an All-Pro team.

Jefferson’s second-team mention adds to his case for Offensive Rookie of the Year after he received Pro Bowl honors earlier this season. He was recently named a finalist for the award which will be announced on Feb. 6 on the NFL Honors show.

Eric Kendricks received three votes despite not playing in the final five games of the season, his second All-Pro mention.

Here’s the full first-team list:


QB: Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay

RB: Derrick Henry, Tennessee

TE: Travis Kelce, Kansas City

WR: Davante Adams, Green Bay; Stefon Diggs, Buffalo; Tyreek Hill, Kansas City

LT: David Bakhtiari, Green Bay

RT: Jack Conklin, Cleveland

LG: Quenton Nelson, Indianapolis

RG: Brandon Scherff, Washington

C: Corey Linsley, Green Bay


Edge: T.J. Watt, Pittsburgh; Myles Garrett, Cleveland

IL: Aaron Donald, Los Angeles Rams; DeForest Buckner, Indianapolis

LB: Fred Warner, San Francisco; Bobby Wagner, Seattle; Darius Leonard, Indianapolis

CB: Xavien Howard, Miami; Jalen Ramsey, Los Angeles Rams

S: Tyrann Mathieu, Kansas City; Minkah Fitzpatrick, Pittsburgh and Budda Baker, Arizona (tie)


Placekicker: Jason Sanders, Miami

Punter: Jake Bailey, New England

Kick Returner: Cordarrelle Patterson, Chicago

Punt Returner: Gunner Olszewski, New England

Special Teamer: George Odum, Indianapolis

Long Snapper: Morgan Cox, Baltimore

Pro Football Talk has listed the full breakdown of votes here.


Trevor Squire is a Heavy contributor covering the Minnesota Vikings and journalism graduate from the University of Minnesota — Twin Cities. Connect with him on Twitter @trevordsquire and join our Vikings community at Heavy on Vikings on Facebook.

Read More