World Cup Golden Boot Winner 2019: Alex Morgan & Megan Rapinoe Tie for Most Goals

Getty Alex Morgan and Megan Rapinoe were fighting for the Golden Boot.

Heading into the World Cup final, it was a tight race for the Golden Boot, the common award in soccer given to the player with the most goals. The Golden Boot was awarded to Megan Rapinoe, who won the award on a tiebreaker. Alex Morgan was named the Silver Boot winner.

There was a three-way tie between Morgan, Rapinoe and England’s Ellen White all finishing with six goals. Australia’s Sam Kerr had five goals to round out the top-four players. Rapinoe won the tiebreaker based on less minutes played, per Fox Soccer.

“6 goals. 3 assists. Megan Rapinoe wins the #FIFAWWC Golden Boot, beating out Alex Morgan on the less minutes played tiebreaker,” Fox Soccer tweeted.

While Morgan admitted that she would like for a USWNT player to win the award, the striker noted the team was focused on trying to win another World Cup. Morgan got both her wishes but the two teammates will also share the award with White, who they defeated to advance to the World Cup final.

“I’d first like to say that I’d like someone on our team to win the Golden Boot,” Morgan told Yahoo Sports. “Of course it would be a great accolade,” she conceded, before making sure to add, “That’s not my goal, my goal is to help this team win a World Cup.”

As a whole, the USA was on fire offensively for the tournament. The USWNT set a new record for the most goals in the World Cup with 26 topping their previous 1991 record, per Fox.

Alex Morgan, Megan Rapinoe & Ellen White Tied for the Most World Cup Goals

Morgan and Rapinoe got one extra game than White to try to take home the award. Rapinoe’s penalty kick against the Netherlands led to a three-way tie among the players. White’s former teammate Rachel Yankey discussed the English striker’s game in an interview with

“Ells has been brilliant,” Yankey told Goal. “You always know she’s going to work hard but now she puts the goals in consistently, and she always looks a threat.”

Megan Rapinoe Also Won the World Cup Golden Ball Award

It was quite the tournament for Rapinoe who helped lead the USWNT to their fourth World Cup title on back-to-back tries. Rapinoe was also named the Golden Ball winner, the award given to the top player in the World Cup.

Here is a look at the final Golden Boot standings for the 2019 World Cup.

World Cup Golden Boot Standings 2019

1 Megan Rapinoe, USA 6
2 Alex Morgan, USA 6
3 Ellen White, England 6
4 Sam Kerr, Australia 5
T-5 Cristiane, Brazil 4
T-5 Wendie Renard, France 4
T-7 Sara Daebritz, Germany 3
T-7 Kosavare Asllani, Sweden 3
T-7 Carli Lloyd, USA 3
T-7 Cristina Girelli, Italy 3
T-7 Aurora Galli, Italy 3
T-7 Jennifer Hermosa, Spain 3
T-7 Rose Lavelle, USA 3
T-7 Vivianne Miedema, Netherlands 3

*Editor’s Note: An earlier edition of this article had the incorrect countries for Kosavare Asllani and Wendie Renard. Asllani plays for Sweden while Renard is part of France’s squad.

Comment Here
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments