LIVE STREAM: CapCom Cup 2016 Day 1 Stream

Watch live video from CapcomFighters on

The annual CapCom Cup tournament is about to begin.

This year’s competition, during which 32 players will compete in Street Fighter V, begins on Friday, December 2nd at 10:00 a.m. Pacific Time. It can be viewed in the embedded Twitch stream via Capcom Fighters; if you’d like to participate in the chat, click the link above to go directly to the Twitch page. The pre-show will begin one hour earlier at 9:00 a.m. Pacific Time. The tournament lasts for essentially the entire day, ending at 12:00 a.m. Pacific Time.

The stream’s hosts and commentators will include Tasty Steve, Ultradavid, Jchensor, Sajam, Vicious, Logan Sama, F-Word and Mike Ross.

The first day of the tournament is taking place at the eSports Arena in Santa Ana, California. Throughout the day, the top 32 players will be narrowed down to the top eight; the format will be a double elimination bracket with the best three out of five matches. The eight players who remain in the competition by the end of the day will move on to day two, which takes place at the Anaheim Convention Center in Anaheim, California.

The top prize of the tournament is $120,000; that also comes with an unspecified bonus from the money raised through downloadable content. The second place winner gets $60,000, plus an unspecified cash bonus, and the third place winner gets $25,000 plus an unspecified cash bonus. That’s over $350,000 in total, the largest cash pool in the history of CapCom Cup.

This year’s CapCom Cup is particularly exciting because it’s the first to be held since the release of Street Fighter V earlier this year. The best fighting game players in the world will be competing today, including Infiltration (Seonwoo Lee), who gave the best performance of the season and who came in first place during 2013’s CapCom Cup. Behind him is Tokido (Hajime Taniguchi), another skilled player who qualified for CapCom Cup when he defeated Infiltration at Community Effort Orlando.

The following 32 players will be competing in CapCom Cup 2016:

  • Infiltration
  • Tokido
  • Justin Wong
  • NuckleDu
  • Fuudo
  • Xiao Hai
  • GamerBee
  • MOV
  • Daigo Umehara
  • Julio Fuentes
  • Phenom
  • Momochi
  • Xian
  • Haitani
  • Eita
  • Luffy
  • Mago
  • Go1
  • Filipino Champ
  • Chris Tatarian
  • MisterCrimson
  • Kazunoko
  • Yukadon
  • K-Brad
  • Brolynho
  • Ricki Ortiz
  • Ryan Hart
  • Problem X
  • Samurai
  • Sako
  • DR Ray
  • HumanBomb
Comment Here
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x