How Many Teams Have Won Back-to-Back NBA Titles?

nba champions list, nba back-to-back champions, nba back to back titles, nba repeat champions, back to back nba titles, nba teams to win back to back championships


The Golden State Warriors are about to make NBA history no matter what happens during Game 7.

If they lose, they’ll be the first team in finals history to blow a 3-1 series lead. However, if they are can tally one more win against the Cleveland Cavaliers, the Dubs will become just the 12th team–and seventh franchise–to repeat as NBA champions.

Here’s the complete list:

NBA Repeat Champions

Minneapolis Lakers: 1952, 1953, 1954

Boston Celtics: 1959, 1960, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964, 1965, 1966

Boston Celtics: 1968, 1969

Los Angeles Lakers: 1987, 1988

Detroit Pistons: 1989, 1990

Chicago Bulls: 1991, 1992, 1993

Houston Rockets: 1994, 1995

Chicago Bulls: 1996, 1997, 1998

Los Angeles Lakers: 2000, 2001, 2002

Los Angeles Lakers: 2009, 2010

Miami Heat: 2012, 2013

Harrison Barnes is the biggest potential loss this summer, and he’s only a restricted free agent, so if the Warriors are able to close out this series at Oracle, they’ll almost assuredly be strong favorites for a three-peat, which would be the first such occurrence since the Kobe Bryant and Shaquille O’Neal-led Lakers in the early 2000’s.

Steph Curry, meanwhile, has the chance to join an even more prestigious group, as a win Sunday night would make him just the fourth player ever to win back-to-back NBA MVP awards and back-to-back NBA championships in the same two years, joining Bill Russell, Michael Jordan and LeBron James.