What Teams Have Won Back-To-Back Super Bowls?

Patriots owner Robert Kraft holds the Lombardi Trophy after the 2005 Super Bowl, New England's second title in a row. (Getty)

Patriots owner Robert Kraft holds the Lombardi Trophy after the 2005 Super Bowl, New England’s second title in a row. (Getty)

The Seattle Seahawks have an opportunity Sunday to accomplish the rare feat of becoming back-to-back Super Bowl champions.

A 43-8 dismantling of the Broncos in last year’s Big Game and then an impressive run through the NFC Playoffs have set the Seahawks up with a chance for the repeat when they face the New England Patriots.

The last time a team repeated as Super Bowl champions was in 2004 and 2005. The team to do it? The New England Patriots. I’m sure there’s a little motivation to prevent the ‘Hawks from going two-in-a-row.

Through 48 Super Bowls, it’s been accomplished 8 times, with one team doing it twice.

Here’s a rundown of the back-to-back Super Bowl winners:

New England Patriots

SB XXXVIII: February 1, 2004 at Reliant Stadium (Houston) – New England 32, Carolina 29
SB XXXIX: February 6, 2005 at Alltel Stadium (Jacksonville) – New England 24, Philadelphia 21

Denver Broncos

SB XXXII: January 25, 1998 at Qualcomm Stadium (San Diego) – Denver 31, Green Bay 24
SB XXXIII: January 31, 1999 at Pro Player Stadium (Miami) – Denver 34, Atlanta 19

Dallas Cowboys

SB XXVII: January 31, 1993 at Rose Bowl (Pasadena, California) – Dallas 52, Buffalo 17
SB XXVIII: January 30, 1994 at Georgia Dome (Atlanta) – Dallas 30, Buffalo 13

San Francisco 49ers

SB XXIII: January 22, 1989 at Joe Robbie Stadium (Miami) – San Francisco 20, Cincinnati 16
SB XXIV: January 28, 1990 at Superdome (New Orleans) – San Francisco 55, Denver 10

Pittsburgh Steelers (Twice)

SB XIII: January 21, 1979 at Orange Bowl (Miami) – Pittsburgh 35, Dallas 31
SB XIV: January 20, 1980 at Rose Bowl (Pasadena, California) – Pittsburgh 31, L.A. Rams 19
SB IX: January 12, 1975 at Tulane Stadium (New Orleans) – Pittsburgh 16, Minnesota 6
SB X: January 18, 1976 at Orange Bowl (Miami) – Pittsburgh 21, Dallas 17

Miami Dolphins

SB VII: January 14, 1973 at Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum – Miami 14, Washington 7
SB VIII: January 13, 1974 at Rice Stadium (Houston) – Miami 24, Minnesota 7

Green Bay Packers

SB I: January 15, 1967 at Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum – Green Bay 35, Kansas City 10
SB II: January 14, 1968 at Orange Bowl (Miami) – Green Bay 33, Oakland 14

For a complete list of all Super Bowl winners and box scores, click here.

CLick here to check out all of Heavy’s Super Bowl coverage.