Australian Open 2016: List of Past Winners



As will be the case a lot in 2016, the two top-ranked players in the world will each be defending their title at the Australian Open.

Novak Djokovic and Serena Williams were both transcendent in 2015, and they each kicked off their season with a win at Melbourne. Djoker took care of Andy Murray in four sets to win his fourth Australian Open title in five years and fifth overall, while Serena made easy work of Maria Sharapova–as she tends to do–to grab her sixth title.

The former will be chasing history in 2016, as a win will tie him with Roy Emerson–who won all six of his in Amateur Era–for most Australian Open titles of all-time. His biggest competition figures to come from Roger Federer, who will be chasing No. 5 in Australia.

As the 2016’s first major approaches, here’s a look at the past men’s and women’s winners:

Past Men’s Singles Winners



2015: Novak Djokovic

2014: Stan Wawrinka

2013: Novak Djokovic

2012: Novak Djokovic

2011: Novak Djokovic

2010: Roger Federer

2009: Rafael Nadal

2008: Novak Djokovic

2007: Roger Federer

2006: Roger Federer

2005: Marat Safin

Click here for the entire list

Past Women’s Singles Winners



2015: Serena Williams

2014: Li Na

2013: Victoria Azarenka

2012: Victoria Azarenka

2011: Kim Clijsters

2010: Serena Williams

2009: Serena Williams

2008: Maria Sharapova

2007: Serena Williams

2006: Amelie Mauresmo

2005: Serena Williams

Click here for the entire list