Chiefs Reveal New Jersey Numbers for 2020 Draft Class

Chiefs jersey

Getty Images AVENTURA, FLORIDA - JANUARY 28: A detailed view of the Super Bowl LIV patch on the jersey of Tyreek Hill #10 of the Kansas City Chiefs speaks to the media during the Kansas City Chiefs media availability prior to Super Bowl LIV at the JW Marriott Turnberry on January 28, 2020 in Aventura, Florida. (Photo by Mark Brown/Getty Images)

After months and weeks of anticipation leading up to the 2020 NFL Draft, the Kansas City Chiefs were gifted with RB Clyde Edwards-Helaire with the No. 32 overall pick on Thursday night.

The LSU product wore No. 22 for the Tigers during his three years in Baton Rouge, but he will now take on new jersey number at the next level. On Friday, the Chiefs official Twitter account revealed a photo of the rookie’s new digits.

Edwards-Helaire will sport the No. 25 in his first NFL season, taking the reins from former fan-favorite and all-time franchise rushing leader RB Jamaal Charles, who wore the number for nine seasons in Kansas City from 2008-16. Most recently, free agent RB LeSean McCoy donned No. 25 during Kansas City’s Super Bowl run in 2019.

Edwards-Helaire now becomes only the 16th player in franchise history to wear the number. Among the other notable ex-Chiefs to wear the No. 25 jersey are WR Frank Pitts (1965-71) and a trio of safties, Doug Terry (1992-95), Reggie Tongue (1996-99) and Greg Wesley (2000-07).

On Friday, May 1, the organization unveiled the remainder of the new jersey numbers for its 2020 rookie class:

No. 29 – CB BoPete Keyes
No. 38 – S L’Jarius Sneed
No. 50 – LB Willie Gay Jr.
No. 51 – DE Michael Danna
No. 67 – OT Lucas Niang

Follow the Heavy on Chiefs Facebook page and Twitter account for the latest breaking news, rumors and content!

In addition to Kansas City’s new top draft picks, the latest roster on the Chiefs official website also shows new jersey numbers for the team’s offseason free agent acquisitions and future/reserve contract players.

No. 6 – P Tyler Newsome
No. 8 – QB Jordan Ta’amu
No. 20 – CB Antonio Hamilton
No. 24 – RB DeAndre Washington
No. 45 – RB Mike Weber (future/reserve contract)
No. 75 – OT Mike Remmers
No. 83 – TE Ricky Seals-Jones

Mike Remmers will take over No. 75, which was previously worn by OL Cam Erving in 2019, while former XFL star Jordan Ta’amu will slide into the No. 8 jersey worn by Matt Moore last season.

READ NEXT: Andy Reid Calls Chiefs New Running Back ‘Better’ Than Former All-Pro

For more NFL updates, follow Chris Licata on Twitter: @Chris__Licata

Comment Here
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x