Blue Jays 2016 Spring Training: Pitchers & Catchers, Schedule & Location

Blue Jays 2016 spring training, Blue Jays 2016 spring training schedule

The Blue Jays are more determined then ever to make a run at the World Series after an almost-there moment last season. (Instagram)

After staging one of the most successful seasons in franchise history last year, the Toronto Blue Jays, not to mention their fans, are anxious for an even better on-diamond performance this year.

And it all gets started in spring training.

The Blue Jays head south to Florida for a brand-new crack at a World Series run, determined to put the almost-there disappointment of last season collectively behind them. Read on for all the important dates as well as details on the squad’s schedule and training location. Here we go:

Blue Jays Reporting Dates

Pitchers & Catchers Report: Sunday, February 21
Pitchers & Catchers Workout: Monday, February 22
Full Squad Reports: Thursday, February 25
First Full Squad Workout: Friday, February 26


Blue Jays Spring Training Game Schedule

*** all games begin at 1:05 p.m. unless otherwise noted

Tuesday, March 1: at Philadelphia Phillies
Wednesday, March 2: vs. Philadelphia Phillies, 1:07 p.m.
Thursday, March 3: at Pittsburgh Pirates
Friday, March 4: vs. Baltimore Orioles, 1:07 p.m.
Saturday, March 5: vs. Philadelphia Phillies, 1:07 p.m.
Sunday, March 6: at Houston Astros
Monday, March 7: vs. Atlanta Braves, 1:07 p.m.
Tuesday, March 8: vs. Minnesota Twins, 1:07 p.m.
Wednesday, March 9: at Tampa Bay Rays
Thursday, March 10: at New York Yankees
Friday, March 11: vs. Boston Red Sox, 1:07 p.m.
Saturday, March 12: at Philadelphia Phillies
Sunday, March 13: vs. Tampa Bay Rays, 1:07 p.m.
Tuesday, March 15: vs. Baltimore Orioles, 1:07 p.m.
Wednesday, March 16: at New York Yankees, 6:35 p.m.
Thursday, March 17: Split Squad at Houston Astros & Split Squad vs. Canada Jr. Team, 1:07 p.m.
Friday, March 18: vs. Houston Astros, 1:07 p.m.
Saturday, March 19: vs. Philadelphia Phillies, 1:07 p.m.
Sunday, March 20: vs. Pittsburgh Pirates, 1:07 p.m.
Tuesday, March 22: at Detroit Tigers
Wednesday, March 23: vs. New York Mets, 1:07 p.m.
Thursday, March 24: vs. Detroit Tigers, 1:07 p.m.
Friday, March 25: at Philadelphia Phillies, 6:35 p.m.
Saturday, March 26: vs. New York Yankees, 1:07 p.m.
Sunday, March 27: at Tampa Bay Rays
Monday, March 28: vs. Philadelphia Phillies, 1:07 p.m.
Tuesday, March 29: Split Squad at Detroit Tigers, Split Squad vs. Tampa Bay Rays, 1:07 p.m.
Wednesday, March 30: at Minnesota Twins


Blue Jays Spring Training Location

The Jays hold their spring training games and workouts at Florida Auto Exchange Stadium in Dunedin, Florida. The 5,509-seat stadium is the only location Toronto has ever held its spring training in franchise history. Before the stadium was built at this location, it housed Grant Field.

In addition to the regulation-size MLB field, the stadium also houses two half-fields, one grass and one turf, as well as five batting tunnels. In addition to serving as the Blue Jays’ home during spring training, the stadium also houses the Dunedin Blue Jays of the Class A Florida State League and the Dunedin High School baseball team.

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Discuss on Facebook