George Halas Trophy: 5 Fast Facts You Need to Know

The George Halas Trophy is awarded to the winner of the NFC Championship Game each season. (Getty)

The George Halas Trophy is awarded to the winner of the NFC Championship Game each season. (Getty)

On Sunday, the Seattle Seahawks host the Green Bay Packers in the NFC Championship Game with a trip to Super Bowl XLIX on the line.

In addition, the victor also takes home the George Halas Trophy, which has been awarded to the NFC champion since 1984. While the Lombardi Trophy is the ultimate goal for all 16 NFC franchises, bringing home the George Halas Trophy is an impressive feat in its own right.

Here is what you need to know about this coveted award:

1. The Trophy is Named After Legendary Coach George Halas



George Halas was the founder, owner and first head coach of the Chicago Bears. He is also considered by many to be one of the original co-founders of the NFL.

Halas led the Bears to six NFL titles and his 324 victories are still the most in team history.

2. The Trophy was Redesigned for the 2011 Playoffs



In an attempt to give an added significance to winning the George Halas Trophy, the NFL had it redesigned. Gone was the old, bulky trophy and its large wooden base, replaced with a sleek and lighter version meant to more closely resemble the game’s ultimate prize, the Lombardi Trophy.

3. The Giants & 49ers Have Won the Trophy 5 Times



Since 1984, the Giants and 49ers are tied with five George Halas Trophies each. Of those 10 total trophies awarded, the two teams have gone on to win the Super Bowl a whopping eight times combined.

4. The Seahawks & Packers Each Won it in The Last 5 Years



Sunday’s showdown will feature two teams that have raised the George Halas Trophy within the last five seasons. Both franchises are current NFC powerhouses and Seattle — the defending Super Bowl champion — will look to win its second straight NFC title.

5. The Vikings & Lions are the Only 2 Teams That Never Won It



Fourteen of the NFC’s 16 teams have won the George Halas Trophy at least once, while the Lions and Vikings continue to bring up the rear.

The law of averages is bound to catch up to these two organizations eventually — perhaps after another trophy redesign.

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Discuss on Facebook