New Hampshire Election Ballot 2016: Candidates for Each Office

New Hampshire election ballot, Voting in New Hampshire 2016, New Hampshire candidates 2016

New Hampshire has been a hotly contested state during the general election, despite only having four electoral votes. (Getty)

New Hampshire has four electoral votes on the line in the presidential election, but voters also have other important federal and state officers to vote for. These include a hotly contested Senate seat and two House seats.

Here are the candidates on the ballot in the Granite State.

U.S. President

There are five presidential candidates on the ballot in New Hampshire. In addition to the two main party candidates – Hillary Clinton (D) and Donald Trump (R) – there are three third-party candidates who qualified for the ballot. They are:

  • Gary Johnson (Libertarian)
  • Jill Stein (Green Party)
  • Roque De La Fuente (American Delta)

U.S. Senate

Republican incumbent Kelly Ayotte is running for re-election against Maggie Hassan. Hassan could have run for Governor again, but opted to run for Senate in 2016. Libertarian Brian Chabot will also be on the ballot.

U.S. House of Representatives

New Hampshire is represented by two U.S. Representatives in the House. District 1 incumbent, Republican Frank Guinta, is running against Democrat Carol Shea-Porter who lost to Guinta in 2014. Shea-Porter also lost to Guinta in 2010, but beat him in 2012.

In the race for the second district, incumbent Democrat Annie Kuster is running against Republican Jim Lawrence.


The governor’s race is between two members of the New Hampshire Executive Council: Democrat Colin Van Ostern and Republican Chris Sununu. Libertarian State Representative Max Abramson is also running for governor.

Other State Executive Offices

New Hampshire voters will also vote for the five-member Executive Council, which advises the governor and has veto power of nominations, pardons and contracts over $10,000. Each member is elected to a two-year term and represents one of five districts. Here are the five races:

  • District 1: Michael Cryans (D) vs. Joseph Kenney (R – Incumbent)
  • District 2: Andru Volinsky (D) vs. Sam Cataldo (R)
  • District 3: Beth Roth (D) vs. Russell Prescott (R)
  • District 4: Chris Pappaas (D – Incumbent) vs. Joseph Kelly Kelvasseur (R) vs. Richard Tomasso (Libertarian)
  • District 5: Dan Weeks (D) vs. Dave Wheeler (R – Incumbent)