John Fox to the Bears: 5 Fast Facts You Need to Know

John Fox, Denver Broncos


The Bears have officially hired John Fox as their new head coach.

The husband to Robin Fox and father of four children is the fifteenth coach in team history, including their time as the Decatur Staleys and Chicago Staleys.

Here’s what you need to know:

1. Fox Was With the Broncos Last Season

Indianapolis Colts v Denver Broncos

Fox lead the Broncos to the Super Bowl last season, but he and the team mutually decided to part ways after the Broncos lost to the Colts in the Divisional Round this year. The Broncos won the AFC west this season with a 12-4 record.

The Broncos suffered an embarrassing 43-8 loss to the Seahawks in last year’s Super Bowl.

2. The Bears Fired Marc Trestman After the Season Ended

Ex-Bears coach Marc Trestman. (Getty)


Marc Trestman was fired by the Bears after two seasons on Black Monday. He went 13-19 with the team after a 5-11 season this year.

3. Fox has a 118-89 record

john fox


Fox has complied a 118-89 record as a head coach. His head coaching career began with the Panthers, and he was with them when they went to the Super Bowl in the 2003 season. Despite two Super Bowl appearances, Fox has yet to earn a ring.

4. Fox Has Gone to the Playoffs in 7 of 13 Seasons

john fox


Fox has missed the playoffs six of 13 seasons. The Broncos made it all four seasons with him as their coach, but he only brought the Panthers there three times in nine seasons.

The Bears have not been to the playoffs since 2010, when they lost to the Packers in the NFC Championship game.

Former Bears Coaches

mike ditka


George Halas – 1920-1929
Ralph Jones – 1930-1932
George Halas – 1933-1942
Hunk Anderson – 1942-1945
Luke Johnson – 1942-1945
George Halas – 1946-1955
Paddy Driscoll – 1956-1957
George Halas – 1958-1967
Jim Dooley – 1968-1971
Abe Gibron – 1972-1974
Jack Pardee – 1975-1977
Neill Armstrong – 1978-1981
Mike Ditka – 1982-1992
Dave Wannstedt – 1993-1998
Dick Jauron – 1999-2003
Lovie Smith 2004-2012
Marc Trestman 2013-2014