Daytona 500 2015: Results & Highlights

joey logano

Joey Logano celebrates winning the 2015 Daytona 500 on Sunday. (Getty)

Joey Logano in the No. 22 Ford Fusion car for Team Penske won the 57th annual Daytona 500 to start the 2015 NASCAR Sprint Cup season.

Logano led 31 of the 200 total laps, and held off Denny Hamlin, Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Jimmie Johnson in the final 13.

Here is how the top 10 finished:
1. Joey Logano
2. Kevin Harvick
3. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
4. Denny Hamlin
5. Jimmie Johnson
6. Casey Mears
7. Clint Bowyer
8. Martin Truex Jr.
9. Kasey Kahne
10. Greg Biffle

For full results and times, scroll down. Here is how the rest of the race went down:

The 2015 Daytona 500 Started Shortly After 1:30 p.m. Eastern

Tony Stewart Caused a Wreck on Lap 41

Tony Stewart, Matt Kenseth Hit Outside Wall Hard – Daytona 500 – 2015 NASCAR Sprint CupCUP: Tony Stewart gets loose and hits the outside wall, starting a chain reaction that sends Matt Kenseth into the wall behind him.2015-02-22T19:23:51.000Z

Tony Stewart (No. 14 car) was involved in a wreck on Lap 41 that also involved Matt Kenseth (No. 20), Ryan Blaney (No. 22) and Michael Waltrip (No. 55).

On radio, Stewart admitted that the wreck was his fault and occurred near the high turn as Stewart drifted towards the outside of the track.

Halfway Through the Race, Gordon Continued to Set the Pace & Lead

Jeff Gordon's No. 24 car (Getty)

Jeff Gordon’s No. 24 car (Getty)

Jeff Gordon has already surpassed the 61 total laps he led the race in 1995, which is a new personal record for him, His top speed today has surpassed 200 mph.

However, in the last five Daytona 500 races, the winner of the race had not led one lap before the halfway point.

Brad Keselowski’s Car Started Smoking After Lap 160

Brad Keselowski Blows Engine, Causes Chaos – Daytona 500 – 2015 NASCAR Sprint CupCUP: Brad Keselowski blows his engine late in the race, laying lots of oil on the racetrack. Jamie McMurray and Ryan Newman lose control and hit the wall behind him.2015-02-22T21:04:33.000Z

Keselowski’s car had an oil containment issue, and was leaking in the garage when it went in for repairs. He and the No. 2 car were not be able to finish the race. His last DNF came in 2013 in Atlanta.

Justin Allgeier & Ty Dillon Were Involved in a Crash on Lap 197

The crash prompted a Caution Flag and then a Red Flag, which temporarily stopped the race. Both Allgeier and Dillon did not finish the race.

Race Notes:
– Here is the rest of the order of finish.
– A Caution Flag was issued on Lap 19 for Landon Cassill’s No. 40 car.
– There was a wreck on Lap 41 involving: Tony Stewart (No. 14), Matt Kenseth (No. 20), Ryan Blaney (No. 22) and Michael Waltrip (No. 55). Stewart would not finish the race.
– Kyle Larson received a penalty for obstructing pit row after Lap 89
– Carl Edwards received a penalty for entering pit row too quickly
– Through 100 laps, seven drivers led the Daytona 500
– Jeff Gordon surpassed the 61 total laps he led the race in 1995
– Shortly after Lap 160, Brad Keselowski’s car had oil containment issues, and he did not finish the race.
– After Lap 165, the Green Flag was waved
– With three laps to go, Justin Allgeier and Ty Dillon were involved in a crash that prompted the race’s 6th Caution Flag and a subsequent red flag.

Preview: Can Dale Jr. Repeat & Win His 3rd Daytona 500 Crown?

— Meet the 2014 contenders here.
— Find starting positions here.
— Read predictions and find betting lines here.
— Learn about Daytona 500 history here.
— For information about the race’s location, click here.

Last year one of NASCAR’s most popular drivers, Dale Earnhardt Jr., won his 2nd career Daytona 500 (2004 and 2014) in three hours and 26 minutes. But Earnhardt leveled off as the Sprint Cup year progressed and ultimately came up short to Kevin Harvick in 2014. took a look at advanced statistics and who the best performing drivers at Daytona are. The leader Kyle Busch is eliminated from the equation, so the next best performing driver is Matt Kenseth, which makes sense because he won the Daytona 500 in 2009 and 2012.

The top favorites to win this year’s race and their betting odds (according to Bovada) are:
Dale Earnhardt Jr. No. 88; 7/1
Jimmie Johnson No. 48; 8/1
Jeff Gordon No. 24; 8/1
Matt Kenseth No. 20; 11/1
Carl Edwards No. 19; 12/1
Kevin Harvick No. 4; 12/1

Comment Here
Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x