Who Was Elected into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 2015?

Nicklas Lidstrom headlines the 2015 class of inductees into the Hockey Hall of Fame. Getty)

Nicklas Lidstrom headlines the 2015 class of inductees into the Hockey Hall of Fame. (Getty)

The 2015 inductees to the Hockey Hall of Fame were announced on Monday and, as expected, Nicklas Lidstrom was one of the five chosen for the honor.

The rest of the 2015 Hall of Fame Class includes:

For starters, Lidstrom was perhaps the greatest defenseman of his generation next to Pronger — fellow classmate — and Scott Niedermayer. Lidstrom played his entire career for the Detroit Red Wings, won SEVEN Norris Trophies, four Stanley Cups and one Conn Smythe Trophy (2002).

Sergei Fedorov is one of the greatest Russian-born players in NHL history. Fedorov played the majority of his career with Lidstrom in Detroit. He is known as one of the greatest two-way (defensive) players of his generation and of all-time. Fedorov won three Stanley Cups with the Red Wings, however, his greatest accomplishments came from his defensive play. He won two Selke Trophies in 1993 and 1995.

Chris Pronger is actually still under contract with the Philadelphia Flyers, however, due to concussion problems, hasn’t played in the NHL since 2011. Pronger’s career isn’t as well documented as Lidstrom’s, but he was still one of the league’s best players at his position during the past 20 seasons. He won just one Norris Trophy in 2000, but was regarded as one of the league’s best. He reached the Stanley Cup three times — with Edmonton in 2007, Anaheim in 2007 and Philadelphia in 2010 — and won it in 2007.

For more about this year’s inductees, follow Yahoo’s Puck Daddy Blog:

Noticeably absent again is Eric Lindros, who seems to be a consistent snub in the year-to-year balloting. Lindros was one of the league’s best players before injuries derailed his career. Lindros was a point-per-game player, and on par with Peter Forsberg as one of the most dominant physical players of the last era.

The Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will take place later this year.