NBA Draft 2015: Past No. 1 Overall Picks List

LeBron James, left, and Carmelo Anthony take a breather during a game in their rookie seasons. James was the No. 1 pick in 2003, Anthony 3rd. (Getty)

LeBron James, left, and Carmelo Anthony take a breather during a game in their rookie seasons. James was the No. 1 pick in 2003, Anthony 3rd. (Getty)

Editor’s note: The odds below are courtesy of Heavy’s partners at OddsShark. Click here for more betting info at

On Thursday night in the Brooklyn Nets’ Barclays Center, one player is going to join an elite group of No. 1 overall NBA Draft picks.

Many experts believe that player will be Karl-Anthony Towns of Kentucky. And it very well could be.

One thing we do know is when that name is called, that player will walk up to the stage, put on a his new team’s hat and jersey, shake hands with Commissioner Adam Silver and pose for a lot of photos.

And then sign a fat contract and get the pressure of resurrecting one of the worst teams in the league thrown on his shoulders. That team this year is the Minnesota Timberwolves. Barring a trade, of course; the NBA loves draft-night swaps.

Whether or not the next Magic Johnson, Shaquille O’Neal or LeBron James is in this draft class remains to be seen, but all eyes will be on Thursday’s No. 1 overall pick come opening night 2015.

Click here to see our mock draft and latest rumors post.

Editor’s note: Can’t wait for the 2015-16 NBA season? already has a full rundown of betting favorites. Click here to check out the list of contenders.

Keep reading to see all the former No. 1 overall picks:

Past No. 1 Picks

David Stern's 30-year history at the NBA draft!Take a look back over the last three decades at the career of David Stern at the NBA draft as we revisit some of his more memorable lottery pick announcements, including such superstars as Hakeem Olajuwon, Michael Jordan & Patrick Ewing! About the NBA: The NBA is the premier professional basketball league in the United…2013-06-28T04:05:18Z

With year, player, NBA team, college/high school/or country

2014 — Andrew Wiggins, Cleveland Cavaliers, Kansas
2013 — Anthony Bennett, Cleveland Cavaliers, UNLV
2012 — Anthony Davis, New Orleans Hornets, Kentucky
2011 — Kyrie Irving, Cleveland Cavaliers, Duke
2010 — John Wall, Washington Wizards, Kentucky
2009 — Blake Griffin, Los Angeles Clippers, Oklahoma
2008 — Derrick Rose, Chicago Bulls, Memphis
2007 — Greg Oden, Portland Trail Blazers, Ohio State
2006 — Andrea Bargnani, Toronto Raptors, Italy
2005 — Andrew Bogut, Milwaukee Bucks, Utah
2004 — Dwight Howard, Orlando Magic, SW Atlanta Christian Academy (Georgia)
2003 — LeBron James, Cleveland Cavaliers, St. Vincent-St. Mary HS (Ohio)
2002 — Yao Ming, Houston Rockets, China
2001 — Kwame Brown, Washington Wizards, Glynn Academy (Georgia)
2000 — Kenyon Martin, New Jersey Nets, Cincinnati
1999 — Elton Brand, Chicago Bulls, Duke
1998 — Michael Olowokandi, Los Angeles Clippers, Pacific
1997 — Tim Duncan, San Antonio Spurs, Wake Forest
1996 — Allen Iverson, Philadelphia 76ers, Georgetown
1995 — Joe Smith, Golden State Warriors, Maryland
1994 — Glenn Robinson, Milwaukee Bucks, Purdue
1993 — Chris Webber, Orlando Magic, Michigan
1992 — Shaquille O’Neal, Orlando Magic, LSU
1991 — Larry Johnson, Charlotte Hornets, UNLV
1990 — Derrick Coleman, New Jersey Nets, Syracuse
1989 — Pervis Ellison, Sacramento Kings, Louisville
1988 — Danny Manning, Los Angeles Clippers, Kansas
1987 — David Robinson, San Antonio Spurs, Navy
1986 — Brad Daugherty, Cleveland Cavaliers, North Carolina
1985 — Patrick Ewing, New York Knicks, Georgetown
1984 — Hakeem Olajuwon, Houston Rockets, Houston
1983 — Ralph Sampson, Houston Rockets, Virginia
1982 — James Worthy, Los Angeles Lakers, North Carolina
1981 — Mark Aguirre, Dallas Mavericks, DePaul
1980 — Joe Barry Carroll, Golden State Warriors, Purdue
1979 — Magic Johnson, Los Angeles Lakers, Michigan State
1978 — Mychal Thompson, Portland Trail Blazers, Minnesota
1977 — Kent Benson, Milwaukee Bucks, Indiana
1976 — John Lucas, Houston Rockets, Maryland
1975 — David Thompson, Atlanta Hawks, North Carolina State
1974 — Bill Walton, Portland Trail Blazers, UCLA
1973 — Doug Collins, Philadelphia 76ers, Illinois State
1972 — LaRue Martin, Portland Trail Blazers, Loyola-Chicago
1971 — Austin Carr, Cleveland Cavaliers, Notre Dame
1970 — Bob Lanier, Detroit Pistons, St. Bonaventure
1969 — Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Milwaukee Bucks, UCLA
1968 — Elvin Hayes, San Diego Rockets, Houston
1967 — Jimmy Walker, Detroit Pistons, Providence
1966 — Cazzie Russell, New York Knicks, Michigan
1965 — Fred Hetzel, San Francisco Warriors, Davidson
1964 — Jim Barnes, New York Knicks, UTEP
1963 — Art Heyman, New York Knicks, Duke
1962 — Bill McGill, Chicago Zephyrs, Utah
1961 — Walt Bellamy, Chicago Packers, Indiana
1960 — Oscar Robertson, Cincinnati Royals, Cincinnati
1959 — Bob Boozer, Cincinnati Royals, Kansas State
1958 — Elgin Baylor, Minneapolis Lakers, Seattle
1957 — Hot Rod Hundley, Cincinnati Royals, West Virginia
1956 — Si Green, Rochester Royals, Duquesne
1955 — Dick Ricketts, St. Louis Hawks, Duquesne
1954 — Frank Selvy, Baltimore Bullets, Furman
1953 — Ray Felix, Baltimore Bullets, Long Island University
1952 — Mark Workman, Milwaukee Hawks, West Virginia
1951 — Gene Melchiorre, Baltimore Bullets, Bradley
1950 — Chuck Share, Boston Celtics, Bowling Green State
1949 — Howie Shannon, Providence Steam Rollers, Kansas State
1948 — Andy Tonkovich, Providence Steam Rollers, Marshall
1947 — Clifton McNeeley, Pittsburgh Ironmen, UTEP

Editor’s note: Are you playing daily fantasy yet? Heavy’s partners at DraftKings are giving away $1 billion in cash prizes with no season-long commitment. Click here to sign up and play today.

Comment Here
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x