Who Won the Atlanta Folds of Honor QuikTrip 500?

Atlanta QuikTrip 500, results, highlights

Jimmie Johnson had a great afternoon in Atlanta. (Getty)


Final QuikTrip 500 Leaderboard

Winner: Jimmie Johnson

1. Jimmie Johnson
2. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
3. Kyle Busch
4. Kurt Busch
5. Carl Edwards
6. Kevin Harvick
7. Martin Truex Jr.
8. Chase Elliott
9. Brad Keselowski
10. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

Kevin Harvick led the most laps in Atlanta with 131, but it was Jimmie Johnson’s day as Johnson won the QuikTrip 500.

Johnson dominated the final portion of the race. He had over a five second lead on Kevin Harvick before a spinout by Ryan Newman caused a caution.

The leading cars came in for pit stops. Johnson was able to have a great stop and remained in first place when the race went green. Shortly after the restart there was a wreck towards the back of the field, and Johnson was able to win the race in overtime.

The win tied Johnson with the late Dale Earnhardt for seventh in total wins. He honored Earnhardt after the race with a victory lap with three fingers held out of the window.

Here’s how things unfolded in Atlanta:

Jimmie Johnson Won the Race in Overtime

Shortly after the race was restarted, there was a wreck involving four cars. It ended up being the final lap and Johnson won the race he had dominated during the final portion of the afternoon.

There Was a Caution Flag With 3 Laps Left

Ryan Newman’s car got loose and spun out with three laps remaining in the race. It caused a yellow flag which was bad news for Jimmie Johnson. Johnson had over a five second lead on Kevin Harvick prior to the caution. The caution caused the leading cars to all make pit stops.

Matt Kenseth Was Penalized Two Laps

Kenseth was penalized one lap for a pit infraction. His crew did not communicate that to him and he was given an additional lap for not coming into the pits to take the penalty. In total, Kenseth was penalized two laps for the infraction.

Kurt Busch Stayed in Front Early in the Race

Busch started the race on the pole and stayed up front for the first 50 laps of the QuikTrip 500. It was smooth sailing early on in Atlanta with no caution flags.


Here’s a look at the starting lineup courtesy of Yahoo Sports:

1 Kurt Busch (41)
2 Jamie McMurray (1)
3 Trevor Bayne (6)
4 Ryan Newman (31)
5 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (17)
6 Kevin Harvick (4)
7 Carl Edwards (19)
8 Austin Dillon (3)
9 Martin Truex Jr. (78)
10 Brian Scott (44)
11 Kasey Kahne (5)
12 Denny Hamlin (11)
13 Matt Kenseth (20)
14 Greg Biffle (16)
15 Casey Mears (13)
16 Dale Earnhardt Jr. (88)
17 Brad Keselowski (2)
18 Ty Dillon (14)
19 Jimmie Johnson (48)
20 Kyle Larson (42)
21 Paul Menard (27)
22 AJ Allmendinger (47)
23 Ryan Blaney (21)
24 Chase Elliott (24)
25 Danica Patrick (10)
26 Joey Logano (22)
27 Aric Almirola (43)
28 Clint Bowyer (15)
29 Landon Cassill (38)
30 Regan Smith (7)
31 Chris Buescher (34)
32 Michael McDowell (95)
33 David Ragan (23)
34 Michael Annett (46)
35 Matt DiBenedetto (83)
36 Cole Whitt (98)
37 Josh Wise (30)
38 Jeffrey Earnhardt (32)
39 Kyle Busch (18)

Read More