Kentucky Derby 2017: Horses, Post Positions & Jockeys

The Friday Show: Who Will Win The Kentucky Derby?No doubt, this is one of the most wide open Derby fields in recent memory, but who's looking ready to win? Which horses have stood out this week and may have benefited from the post position draw? In this Kentucky Derby edition of The Friday Show, Scott Jagow and Ray Paulick share their thoughts on…2017-05-05T13:09:20.000Z

Welcome to a wide open Kentucky Derby. The 2017 race has a field of 20 horses and an argument can be made on why each horse could find the Winner’s Circle. The race has a post time of 6:46 p.m. on NBC on Saturday night.

Classic Empire enters the race as a slight favorite but is far from a sure thing. The horse has had an up-and-down prep season battling injuries and skipping training sessions. Classic Empire battled a foot abscess that forced him to miss time.

Aside from his injuries, he also refused to train at times in the months leading up to the Derby. He is coming off an impressive victory in the Arkansas Derby and had been pegged as one of the favorites back in the fall.

A couple of experienced jockeys are riding horses with long odds. Mario Gutierrez is riding Irap in the nine post. Victor Espinoza is the jockey for Gormley in the 18 post. According to OddsShark, the two jockeys have won four of the last five Derby races.

In addition to Classic Empire, there are a few other horses expected to do well. Always Dreaming is coming off a comfortable victory in the Florida Derby. McCraken is undefeated at Churchill Downs and is another horse to watch. Irish War Cry is one of the fastest horses in the field and finds himself in the group of favorites.

Check out Heavy’s breakdown of the top contenders as well as the sleeper horses to watch.

Here’s a look at the horses and jockeys listed by post position for the 2017 Kentucky Derby.

1 Lookin at Lee Corey Lanerie
2 Thunder Snow Christophe Soumillon
3 Fast and Accurate Channing Hill
4 Untapped Ricardo Santana Jr.
5 Always Dreaming John Velazquez
6 State of Honor Jose Lezcano
7 Girvin Mike Smith
8 Hence Florent Geroux
9 Irap Mario Gutierrez
10 Gunnevera Javier Castellano
11 Battle of Midway Fravien Prat
12 Sonneteer Kent Desormeaux
13 J Boys Echo Luis Saez
14 Classic Empire Julien Leparoux
15 McCraken Brian Hernandez Jr.
16 Tapwrit Jose Ortiz
17 Irish War Cry Rajiv Maragh
18 Gormley Victor Espinoza
19 Practical Joke Joel Rosario
20 Patch Tyler Gaffalione

Comment Here
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x