NBA Awards 2017: List of Awards & Nominees

russell westbrook, nba awards list, nominees, who, what, finalists

Russell Westbrook hopes to take home the NBA MVP trophy. (Getty)

The 2017 NBA Awards features a bevy of different honors handed out to deserving players and team personnel. The NBA will announce the MVP, Rookie of the Year and a total of 12 featured awards. There are also an additional seven awards that were voted on by the fans.

By far, the most interest centers around the 2017 NBA MVP race between Russell Westbrook and James Harden. Based on unofficial polling data, Westbrook is expected to win the award, but there is plenty of intrigue around who will take home the trophy.

In addition to the awards listed below, the NBA will announce the following award winners: NBA Basketball Executive of the Year, NBA Sportsmanship Award, Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year and the NBA Cares Community Assist Award. The finalists have not been announced.

Here’s a look at the nominees for each award courtesy of the NBA.

NBA Awards 2017

NBA Most Valuable Player (MVP)
James Harden, Houston Rockets
Kawhi Leonard, San Antonio Spurs
Russell Westbrook, Oklahoma City Thunder

Coach of the Year
Mike D’Antoni, Houston Rockets
Gregg Popovich, San Antonio Spurs
Erik Spoelstra, Miami Heat

Rookie of the Year
Malcolm Brogdon, Milwaukee Bucks
Joel Embiid, Philadelphia 76ers
Dario Saric, Philadelphia 76ers

Sixth Man of the Year
Eric Gordon, Houston Rockets
Andre Iguodala, Golden State Warriors
Lou Williams, Houston Rockets

Defensive Player of the Year
Rudy Gobert, Utah Jazz
Draymond Green, Golden State Warriors
Kawhi Leonard, San Antonio Spurs

Most Improved Player
Giannis Antetokounmpo, Milwaukee Bucks
Rudy Gobert, Utah Jazz
Nikola Jokic, Denver Nuggets

Dunk of the Year (Fan Vote)
Larry Nance, LA Lakers
Zach LaVine, Minnesota Timberwolves
Victor Oladipo, Oklahoma City Thunder

Best Style (Fan Vote)
Iman Shumpert, Cleveland Cavs
Dwayne Wade, Chicago Bulls
Russell Westbrook, Oklahoma City Thunder

Block of the Year (Fan Vote)
Kawhi Leonard, San Antonio Spurs
Kristaps Porzingis, New York Knicks
Hassan Whiteside, Miami Heat

Performance of the Year (Fan Vote)
Devin Booker, Phoenix Suns
James Harden, Houston Rockets
Klay Thompson, Golden State Warriors
Russell Westbrook, Oklahoma City Thunder

Assist of the Year (Fan Vote)
Draymond Green, Golden State Warriors
Nikola Jokic, Denver Nuggets
Chris Paul, LA Clippers

Best Playoff Moment (Fan Vote)
Isaiah Thomas, Boston Celtics
John Wall, Washington Wizards
Kevin Durant, Golden State Warriors

Read More