Justin Turner, Mike Moustakas Lead the Way in Final MLB All Star Voting

Getty Justin Turner of the Los Angeles Dodgers

With the rosters for the 2017 Major League Baseball All Star game locked in, it’s up to fans to select the final two players for the 88th All Star game on Tuesday July 11th. The Final Vote campaign is the last stage of selection for the All Star game and the second stage that is fan-driven. Fans select the starters for each league in stage one, stage two consists of players from all 30 teams voting to fill out the rosters and stage three is when the commissioner’s office selects the last few players to be included.

Last year Michael Saunders of the Toronto Blue Jays beat out George Springer of the Houston Astros and Dustin Pedroia of the Boston Red Sox in the American League, while Brandon Belt of the San Francisco Giants held off Starling Marte of the Pittsburgh Pirates. Both players ended up going 0-1 in the game, which the National League won 4-2.

Here’s who is the in the running to represent their leagues this year.

American League

MLB Final Vote, Mike Moustakas Final Vote

Mike Moustakas of the Kansas City Royals leads the way in the AL Final Vote race (Getty)

Elvis Andrus, Texas Rangers

Xander Bogaerts, Boston Red Sox

Didi Gregorius, New York Yankees

Logan Morrison, Tampa Bay Rays

Mike Moustakas, Kansas City Royals

National League

Justin Turner Final Vote, 2017 MLB All Star Game

A group of loyal Dodgers fans, Pantone 294, are volunteering to vote for 24 consecutive hours to get Justin Turner into the All Stare Game (Getty)

Justin Bour, Miami Marlins

Kris Bryant, Chicago Cubs

Anthony Rendon, Washington Nationals

Mark Reynolds, Colorado Rockies

Justin Turner, Los Angeles Dodgers

As of 1pm on Wednesday, Moustakas and Turner, both third basemen, were in the lead. Bogaerts is right behind Moustakas, with Bryant trailing Turner. Bryant’s wife Jessica has been one of his fiercest advocates, taking to Twitter to campaign for her husband several times a day.

Bogaerts is looking to break a dismal run of Red Sox who have failed to snag the Final Vote nod. Since Boston closer Hideki Okajima won the Final Vote in 2007, Boston has gone 0-4 in the Final Vote race. Bogaerts finished second to Moustakas in the Final Vote race in 2015.

Voting ends Thursday July 6, 2017 at 4:00 p.m. eastern time.

Comment Here
Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x