When Is Trump’s Mount Rushmore Fireworks Event? See Time & Details

Trump Mount Rushmore Event

Getty Trump Mount Rushmore Event

President Donald Trump is speaking at a pre-Fourth of July fireworks event at Mount Rushmore tonight. Read on to find exactly what time the event starts and to learn more about what’s happening.


The Event Runs from 4-10 PM MST

According to the event’s official website, the entire program will last from approximately 4 p.m. MST to 10 p.m. MST, with the fireworks happening at approximately 9:30-9:45 p.m. MST.

In other time zones, this means that if you’re watching online, the event will last from 5 p.m.-11 p.m. Central (with fireworks at 10:30-10:45 p.m. Central), 6 p.m.-12 a.m. Eastern (with fireworks from 11:30-11:45 p.m. Eastern), or 3 p.m.-9 p.m. Pacific (with fireworks from 8:30-8:45 p.m. Pacific.)

Live coverage of the Mount Rushmore Fireworks event in South Dakota begins at 4 p.m. Mountain time (5 p.m. Central/6 p.m. Eastern) today, Friday, July 3, according to the official website for the event. You can watch a live stream provided by PBS below.

WATCH LIVE: Trump holds July 4 celebration at Mt. RushmoreStream your PBS favorites with the PBS app: https://to.pbs.org/2Jb8twG Find more from PBS NewsHour at https://www.pbs.org/newshour Subscribe to our YouTube channel: https://bit.ly/2HfsCD6 Follow us: Facebook: http://www.pbs.org/newshour Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/newshour Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/newshour Snapchat: @pbsnews Subscribe: PBS NewsHour podcasts: https://www.pbs.org/newshour/podcasts Newsletters: https://www.pbs.org/newshour/subscribe2020-07-03T13:56:27Z

However, it’s worth noting that the main events may start later, including Trump’s speech.

The White House tweeted that Trump and the First Lady would be attending the celebration and it can be watched live at 10:10 p.m. Eastern (9:10 p.m. Central/8:10 p.m. Mountain/7:10 p.m. Pacific.) So that might be closer to when Trump’s speech is taking place.

This broadcast from Fox News isn’t expected to go live until 8 p.m. Eastern, which is a couple of hours after the live broadcast from Mount Rushmore’s website is going live. There’s a chance it might start earlier, though.

Live: Trump holds Independence Day celebration at Mount RushmoreExpected live July 3 at 8 p.m. ET: President Trump kicks off Independence Day celebrations at Mount Rushmore. Subscribe to Fox News! https://bit.ly/2vBUvAS Watch more Fox News Video: http://video.foxnews.com Watch Fox News Channel Live: http://www.foxnewsgo.com/ FOX News Channel (FNC) is a 24-hour all-encompassing news service delivering breaking news as well as political and business news. The number one network in cable, FNC has been the most-watched television news channel for 18 consecutive years. According to a 2020 Brand Keys Consumer Loyalty Engagement Index report, FOX News is the top brand in the country for morning and evening news coverage. A 2019 Suffolk University poll named FOX News as the most trusted source for television news or commentary, while a 2019 Brand Keys Emotion Engagement Analysis survey found that FOX News was the most trusted cable news brand. A 2017 Gallup/Knight Foundation survey also found that among Americans who could name an objective news source, FOX News was the top-cited outlet. Owned by FOX Corporation, FNC is available in nearly 90 million homes and dominates the cable news landscape, routinely notching the top ten programs in the genre. Watch full episodes of your favorite shows The Five: http://video.foxnews.com/playlist/longform-the-five/ Special Report with Bret Baier: http://video.foxnews.com/playlist/longform-special-report/ The Story with Martha Maccallum: http://video.foxnews.com/playlist/longform-the-story-with-martha-maccallum/ Tucker Carlson Tonight: http://video.foxnews.com/playlist/longform-tucker-carlson-tonight/ Hannity: http://video.foxnews.com/playlist/longform-hannity/ The Ingraham Angle: http://video.foxnews.com/playlist/longform-the-ingraham-angle/ Fox News @ Night: http://video.foxnews.com/playlist/longform-fox-news-night/ Follow Fox News on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/FoxNews/ Follow Fox News on Twitter: https://twitter.com/FoxNews/ Follow Fox News on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/foxnews/om/2020-06-29T19:50:35Z

If you want to make sure that you don’t miss anything, including Trump’s speech, then you’ll likely want to start tuning in around 6 p.m. Eastern/5 p.m. Central/4 p.m. Mountain/3 p.m. Pacific. That way, even if the part you want to watch starts later, you won’t miss anything.

According to the FAQ, event parking opened at 1:30 p.m. MST and the program is officially beginning at 4 p.m. MST. But ticketholders must be in the park no later than 6 p.m. MST (7 p.m. Central/8 p.m. Eastern) and security checkpoints will shut down right at 6 p.m. MST.

Actual attendance to this event was limited to a lottery that closed on Monday night, June 8. So only 7,500 people will be there with tickets. Mount Rushmore is closed to the general public today because of the event and reopens tomorrow at 5 a.m. Mountain time.

Masks also aren’t required, although they will be available for anyone who wants them. The website reads:

Please take personal responsibility seriously when attending this event. We encourage everyone to follow CDC guidelines, especially those in the vulnerable category. We are looking forward to a safe and successful event.

There will also be security checkpoints for people attending. The website notes:

There will be several security checkpoints for ticket-holders upon arrival. Ticket-holders will receive further communication via email regarding prohibited items and what to expect at the screening location. All vehicles, including the vehicle storage areas, will be searched for prohibited items.

Some of the prohibited items include alcohol, aerosols, ammunition, animals other than service animals, backpacks and bags over 18″x13″x7″, bicycles, balloons, coolers, drones, explosives, firearms, glass/thermal/metal containers in Zone 1, laser pointers, mace/pepper spray, packages, motorized mobility devices (in Zone 2), selfie sticks, signs greater than 20″x36″x1/4″, toy guns, and more.

READ NEXT: Daily COVID-19 Updates