Belmont Stakes 2015: Horses, Jockeys, Trainers & Owners

The 147th running of the Belmont Stakes is almost here, and for the 2nd consecutive year, a horse has won the first two races of the Triple Crown is looking to make history.

Last year it was California Chrome. This year it is the highly touted American Pharoah. American Pharoah, jockey Victor Espinoza and trainer Bob Baffert will have an opportunity to accomplish something no race horse has done in 37 years and that is win the coveted Triple Crown.

The last horse to win the Triple Crown was Affirmed in 1978.

American Pharoah will have largely familiar challengers. The seven other horses that round out Saturday’s eight-horse field have ran against American Pharoah at least once in the last two months. Some have run against American Pharoah before the Kentucky Derby (Madefromlucky), others in the Derby (Materiality, Frosted and Mubtaahij, Frammento) and others in the Preakness (Tale of Verve, Keen Ice).

Here are the horses, jockeys, trainers and owners for the 2015 Belmont Stakes:

Horse: Jockey: Trainer: Owner:
American Pharoah Victor Espinoza Bob Baffert Zayat Stables
Frosted Joel Rosario Kiaran McLaughlin Godolphin
Materiality John Velazquez Todd Pletcher Alto Racing, LLC
Madefromlucky Javier Castellano Todd Pletcher  Cheyenne Stables LLC
Mubtaahij Irad Ortiz Jr. Mike de Kock Sheikh Mohammed bin Khalifa Al Maktoum
Tale of Verve Gary Stevens Dallas Stewart Charles Fipke
Keen Ice Kent Desormeaux Dale Romans Donegal Racing
Frammento Mike Smith Nick Zito Mossarosa

For news and updates before the 147th Belmont Stakes, follow the official Twitter account: @BelmontStakes and to purchase tickets for Saturday’s event that will have American Pharoah looking to become the 12th horse to win the Triple Crown, click the link in the following tweet:

This year’s Belmont Stakes Day card features five other Grade 1 races worth almost $5 million combined including the $1.25 million main event.

Post time for Saturday’s Belmont Stakes is approximately 6:50 p.m. ET and the race will be broadcast on national television on NBC. Coverage begins at 2:30 p.m. ET on NBC Sports Network before transferring to NBC at 4:30 p.m.

Comment Here
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments