Live Super Tuesday Delegate Results 2020: Who Is Winning?

Super Tuesday

Getty Super Tuesday

Super Tuesday was an intense night with 1,344 pledged delegates at stake. The path to the Democratic nomination is still anyone’s to win. After Pete Buttigieg and Amy Klobuchar both recently dropped out of the running, the field has narrowed significantly. The main contenders on the ballots now are Joe Biden, Mike Bloomberg, Tulsi Gabbard, Bernie Sanders, and Elizabeth Warren. Heavy partnered with Decision Desk to bring live results from Super Tuesday from every state. Polls began closing at 7 p.m. Eastern, with the last polls closing in California at 8 p.m. Pacific.

In the first section, you’ll see the live results along with a live delegate tracker. In the second section, you’ll see news about the election, updated throughout the night.

So far, Decision Desk has made the following calls. Remember, delegates are awarded proportionally.

  • Virginia – Joe Biden
  • Vermont – Bernie Sanders
  • The American Samoan caucus – Bloomberg (per ABC)
  • North Carolina – Joe Biden
  • Alabama – Joe Biden
  • Arkansas – Joe Biden
  • California – too close to call as of 3:10 a.m. Eastern
  • Colorado – Bernie Sanders
  • Maine – too close to call. Decision Desk hopes to make a call by 9 a.m.
  • Massachusetts – Joe Biden
  • Minnesota – Joe Biden
  • Oklahoma – Joe Biden
  • Tennessee – Joe Biden
  • Texas – Joe Biden
  • Utah – Bernie Sanders

Democratic Primary Results & Delegates – Updated Live

Heavy has partnered with Decision Desk to show the live results of Super Tuesday as they come in. Go here if you don’t see a results table below. Below is a map of the live Super Tuesday results. Scroll through the map to see the results for each state.


Live Delegate Results, Including Buttigieg’s & Klobuchar’s Delegates

A delegate tracker is below. This tracker currently shows the delegates from all the elections so far, but it will be updated to include Super Tuesday results as they are known.

The DNC released a memo the night before Super Tuesday explaining what happens to Buttieigeg’s and Klobuchar’s delegates now that they dropped out of the race. The DNC said in its released rules: “it should be noted that pledged delegates to the Democratic Convention are not legally ‘bound’ to vote for the candidate for whom they were elected. Rather, they are ‘pledged in all good conscience [to] reflect the sentiments of those who elected them.’ [Rule 12.J] Under Democratic rules, delegates are always able to vote for their candidate of choice. Because presidential campaigns have the right to review and approve delegate candidates prior to their selection, delegates generally do remain committed to vote for their preferred candidate as long as their candidate is still viable. In cases where a candidate asks his/her delegates to support another candidate, or where a candidate who has accrued delegates drops out — it is the delegate’s prerogative to either follow the candidate’s request or to vote for the candidate of their choice.”


Live Updates & Details

We will include live updates from throughout the night as the evening progresses.

3:10 a.m. Eastern: Decision Desk said around 3:10 a.m. Eastern that it will not be making a call for California tonight, but hopes to have a call by mid-morning on Wednesday. It also will not be making a call for Maine until around 9 a.m. at the earliest.

1 a.m. Eastern: Decision Desk declared Joe Biden the Texas primary winner. With a little more than 70% reporting, Biden has 31.61% of the votes to Sanders’ 28.77%.

12 a.m. Eastern: Decision Desk called Utah for Bernie Sanders.

11 p.m. Eastern: AP is calling the California race for Bernie Sanders. Decision Desk has not made a call.

10:01 p.m. Eastern: It might be a while before we get Texas results. Even an hour after the polls closed, some locations still had two hour wait times.

10 p.m.: Decision Desk called Minnesota for Biden and has said Texas is too early to call but leaning Sanders.

9:40 p.m. Eastern: Decision Desk has called Oklahoma and Tennesee for Biden.

9:19 p.m Eastern: Decision Desk notes that Oklahoma and Tennessee are leaning Biden.

9:08 p.m. Eastern: An official with the DNC announced that their debate threshold will increase, including delegates. This announcement came shortly after Tulsi Gabbard earned a delegate from the American Samoa Caucus. Read more in Heavy’s story here.

9:07 p.m. Eastern: Fox News is calling Colorado for Bernie Sanders and Oklahoma for Joe Biden. Decision Desk has also called Colorado for Sanders.

8:45 p.m. Eastern: Early voting in Texas is making things tough to predict.

 In Hidalgo early voting, Bloomberg has 30%, Sanders 26%, and Biden 21%.

In Travis County early voting, Sanders is at 37%, Warren 25%, Biden 12% and Bloomberg 9.61%.

In Collin County early voting, Sanders is at 29%, Biden at 22% and Bloomberg at 18%.

8:08 p.m. Eastern: Decision Desk has called Alabama for Joe Biden.

7:46 p.m. Eastern: Here’s a look at a Joe Biden watch party after the results were announced.

7:41 p.m. Eastern: Decision Desk called the North Carolina primary for Joe Biden.

7:38 p.m. Eastern: Mike Bloomberg is projected to win the American Samoan caucus.

7:34 p.m. Eastern: Decision Desk notes that North Carolina is leaning Biden, and ABC is projecting a win for Biden based on exit polls.

7:29 p.m. Eastern: As long as you’re in line when the polls close, you should be able to vote no matter how long the line is.

7:26 p.m. Eastern: Some locations, like Texas State, were reporting lines as long as two hours.

7:05 p.m. Eastern: Decision Desk has called Virginia for Joe Biden. NBC and CNN have both called Vermont for Bernie Sanders. Virginia has 99 delegates and Vermont has 16. These are divided proportionally.

6:04 p.m. Eastern: A Nashville judge ruled that Davidson County polls will stay open until 8 p.m. and five other supersites will stay open until 10 p.m. because of the devastating tornado the night before.

Tuesday afternoon: Robocalls were made in Texas that shared misinformation about the primary.

Monday night: Beto O’Rourke, Amy Klobuchar, and Pete Buttigieg all endorsed Joe Biden the night before Super Tuesday. O’Rourke’s endorsement might move some Texas votes, since he was a longtime Congressman who recently ran against Ted Cruz for Senate in Texas.


Poll Times & Delegates

Here are the times the polls close in each state. The local time is listed first.

Alabama: 7 p.m. Central / 8 p.m. Eastern – 52 delegates

Arkansas: 7:30 p.m. Central / 8:30 p.m. Eastern – 31 delegates

California: 8 p.m. Pacific (10 p.m. Central/11 p.m. Eastern) – 415 delegates

Colorado:  7 p.m. Mountain (8 p.m. Central / 9 p.m. Eastern) – 67 delegates

Maine: 8 p.m. Eastern / 7 p.m. Central – 24 delegates

Massachusetts: 8 p.m. Eastern / 7 p.m. Central – 91 delegates

Minnesota: 8 p.m. Central / 9 p.m. Eastern – 75 delegates

North Carolina: 7:30 p.m. Eastern / 6:30 p.m. Central – 110 delegates

Oklahoma: 7 p.m. Central / 8 p.m. Eastern – 37 delegates

Tennessee: 8 p.m. Eastern/ 7 p.m. Central – 64 delegates

Texas: 7 p.m. Central / 8 p.m. Eastern – 228 delegates

Utah: 8 p.m. Mountain (9 p.m. Central / 10 p.m. Eastern) – 29 delegates

Vermont: 7 p.m. Eastern / 6 p.m. Central – 16 delegates

Virginia: 7 p.m. Eastern / 6 p .m. Central – 99 delegates

READ NEXT: What Time Do Super Tuesday Polls Close? When Do We Know Who Won?